Think Different #56

Resources for the Week of MARCH 18, 2018

I know it is Spring Break for many of you, but not everyone is on spring break!!

We are on Spring Break here at Kansas State Univeristy, and of course we are all pumped that KSU Basketball has made it to the Sweet 16.


I know many of my readers had break last week, so here we go, a few resources for you to explore.

Big picture

Check out these storybooks and audiobooks to read with your kids

1- Epic-the leading digital library for kids, where kids can explore their interests and learn with instant, unlimited access to 25,000 high-quality ebooks, audiobooks, learning videos, and quizzes for kids 12 and under.
  • Free
  • Offers In-App Purchases

  • 2- Weirdwood Manor-‘A fantasy tale in the tradition of “Harry Potter” and “The Golden Compass”, “The Incredible Tales of Weirdwood Manor” is a beautifully illustrated picture book, a stunningly animated movie, and a challenging series of games and puzzles. Over 30 minutes of story and activities in Book 1; 60-90 minutes in each of Books 2 - 6.

  • Free
  • Offers In-App Purchases

  • 3- StoryBots – Fun and Learning- The StoryBots iPhone app (but works on iPad too) makes learning fun for kids 3-8 with 250+ educational books, videos and games featuring characters from the Netflix original series, “Ask the StoryBots" and "StoryBots Super Songs." Used in more than 45,000 classrooms around the world, StoryBots helps your child practice literacy and math skills and explore science, history, behaviors and more. Plus, by adding your child’s photo and name, you can make them the star of the show!
  • Free
  • Offers In-App Purchases

  • 4- The Complete Adventures of Pan (Books 1-7)- Includes ALL 7 BOOKS of Complete Series The Adventures of Pan. Kids will love the timeless story of Pan as she goes on an adventure to rescue her parents and save the world. Features original characters, high quality animation, music, puzzles and activities. $19.99 for all 7 books

    5- PlayKids Stories - Books for Kids- PlayKids Stories is an amazing library of books and stories for kids 8 and under. Join this space adventure that will nurture your little one’s love of reading. Access a library from all-time favorite stories to modern classics that will spark the imagination.
  • Free
  • Offers In-App Purchases

  • Thanakd to Educational Technology and Mobile Learning for these resources.
  • Need symbols & icons for projects for FREE?

      • The Noun Project

        Creating, Sharing and Celebrating the World's Visual Language.

        Icons for everything

        Over a million curated icons, created by a global community

      • AIGA Symbol Sign Icons

        The complete set of 50 passenger/pedestrian symbols developed by AIGA is available for all to use, free of charge

      • Pictofigo

        Pictofigo offers a wide range of freehand drawings ranging from concept drawings , workflow drawings to infographics drawings

    Big picture

    Civics teaches students how government works by having them experience it directly

    iCivics exists to engage students in meaningful civic learning. We provide civics teachers well-written, inventive, and free resources that enhance their practice and inspire their classrooms. Our mission is to ensure every student receives a high-quality civic education, and becomes engaged in – and beyond – the classroom.


    iCivics works because we make the subject come alive. Students have fun playing our games: they get to experience many civic roles, and are given the agency to address real-world issues. Teachers are fast adopting iCivics into their practice – and they tell us why. Our resources are reliable, and add value to their teaching.


    Website: https://www.icivics.org

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zuyaa7qqHII

    Social Studies Teachers, Check this site out!!!

    Welcome to TomRichey.net, a website committed to delivering learning to students and teachers by providing online videos, PowerPoints, tutoring services, writing courses, and other instructional materials.


    https://www.tomrichey.net

    Using Basic Dictation Commands

    Thanks for MacMost for this tip on voice commands.

    "The ability to dictate text instead of typing is built in to macOS. But in order to use dictation effectively, you should know how to use some basic commands for moving the cursor, selecting text, replacing text, and correcting mistakes. You can also use dictation commands to access toolbar and menu bar commands for more advanced change"

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4XYa_x-9tQ
    How to site online resource APA style

    More specifically, you will get to learn how to cite: an online magazine, a blog post, a blog comment, N online newspaper article, n electronic version of print book, a video, a podcast, and a video blog post.

    Big picture

    Sketch Nation lets you create games by drawing them


    Sketch Nation lets you create games by drawing them. Select a game genre and then, using your own art, photos and ideas, design characters, scenery and objects to bring your games to life! Want others to see your games? Share them with friends and players in the Sketch Nation community.

    Sketch Nation is free, easy to learn and fun to use, providing education, entertainment and storytelling all at once.

    Go ahead. Create something new.


    It’s easy to get started using Sketch Nation Create. Simply download the app from the links and create an account.


    • Open the app and select “Create game” to see the different genres available.
    • You can just pick one and start creating!
    • Or you could try playing a few of the more popular games on our site to get a sense of how other users have become game creators.


    Website: http://sketchnation.com

    Getting Started: http://sketchnation.com/getting_started.html

    iOS App: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sketch-nation-create/id908470464?mt=8

    https://youtu.be/eqkX0mOigkQ