Baseball in the 1930s

By: Oliver Logterman

Where was this taking place?

There were only 16 teams in the 1930 MLB. The teams include: Philadelphia Athletics, Washington Senators, New York Yankees, Cleveland Indians, Detroit Tigers, St. Louis Browns, Chicago White Sox, Boston Red Sox, St. Louis Cardinals. Chicago Cubs, New York Giants, Brooklyn Robins, Pittsburgh Pirates, Boston Braves, Cincinnati Reds, and the Philadelphia Phillies. All of the teams that were in the MLB in the 1930's were all to the east of the Mississippi River and started on the East, and gradually spread to the West like California. Some of the players in the 1930s include: Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Jimmie Fox, and Joe DiMaggio.
In ESPN's Top 100 Baseball Players of All Time there are 17 players. This just shows how talented the MLB athletes were in the 1930s.