Tiger Notes

Thursday, January 28

Big picture

It is *B* Day for Hybrid Students.

Tech Support

Monday-Thursday

7:30 am - 3:30 pm: In-Person Assistance @ Brookside Education Center, Door C


Friday

9:00 am - 1:00 pm: In-Personal Assistance @ Brookside Education Center, Door C


Phone: 507.379.5190

Email: techsupport@alschools.org

Or you may fill out this form

Announcements & Reminders

ASVAB Sign Up

Students interested in joining the military can sign up for the ASVAB (Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery) test, which will take place on Thursday, February 11. Students taking the test must sign up in the Front Office by Thursday, February 4.

Junior Testing Day

Junior Testing Day, Tuesday, March 30 REGISTRATION DEADLINE: February 15


Junior testing day is quickly approaching. Have you registered for the test you would like to take? Juniors have the choice of taking the ACT, Accuplacer, or ASVAB test. In order to learn more about appropriate test choice, check out this link: http://bit.ly/jtrtestinfo To register for the test you wish to take, go to the following link: bit.ly/ALHStest or scan the QR code below.

Big picture

Virtual College Exploration for All Minnesota Students

Mark your calendars – Spring Virtual Fairs will be the week of March 8, 2021!


Minnesota Association for College Admission Counseling (MACAC) is partnering with StriveScan to offer all virtual student engagement opportunities for Spring 2021.


6x6 Information Sessions:


  • March 10th and 11th from 5-8pm
  • Format involves six colleges presenting together so students can hear from multiple institutions at once
  • Replicates in-person college fair browsing experience
  • Students are drawn to the variety of schools
  • 45-minute sessions – can attend one session per hour
  • Students can chat questions to the reps throughout the session


Panel Presentations:


  • March 9th from 2-7pm and March 10th from 1-4pm
  • Students can choose popular topics like “Paying for College/Financial Aid”, “It’s not too late! College options and application tips for seniors” and “How to ‘visit’ colleges when you can’t visit colleges”
  • 45-minute sessions – can attend one session per hour
  • Students can chat questions to the reps throughout the session

Student registration will be open February 16 – March 11.

Sincerely,

MEF Committee

Please contact your School Counselor to sign up if you need to make up credits.

Jessica Hatland, A-G: Jessica.Hatland@alschools.org

Krystal Webinger, H-O: Krystal.Webinger@alschools.org

Kathleen Lommen, P-Z: Kathleen.Lommen@alschools.org

Upcoming Events

February

1 - Quarter 3 Conferences

11 - ASVAB

15 - District Day, NO SCHOOL

22 - Accuplacer

23 - Accuplacer


March

11-12 - Finals

12 - End of Quarter 3

15-19 - Spring Break

25 - Scholarships Due

30 - 11th Grade Test (ACT/Accuplacer/ASVAB)

Virtual College Visits

Monday, April 26

MSU - Mankato @ 3:30


Friday, April 30

MSU - Mankato @ 12:00


Students can sign up for a virtual college visit by logging into Naviance. If you have any questions, please contact Katie Cords in the front office.

Lunch Menu

Go to to Chartwells School Dining Services and click on Albert Lea High School on the right-hand side.

Athletics & Activities

Go to the Big 9 website and click on Albert Lea High School.

Office Staff/Administration

Mark Grossklaus, Principal

mark.grossklaus@alschools.org


Jeff Halverson, Assistant Principal

jeff.halverson@alschools.org


Tyler Johnson, Dean of Students

tyler.johnson@alschools.org


Dani Bryant, Secretary to the Principal

dani.bryant@alschools.org


Jessica Hatland, Counselor (A - G)

jessica.hatland@alschools.org


Krystal Webinger, Counselor (H - O)

krystal.webinger@alschools.org


Kathleen Lommen, Counselor (P - Z)

kathleen.lommen@alschools.org


Katie Cords, Counseling Secretary

katie.cords@alschools.org


Activities & Athletics

Paul Durbahn, Director

paul.durbahn@alschools.org


Jen Zoller, Secretary

jennifer.zoller@alschools.org


Holly Dahl, Clerk

holly.dahl@alschools.org


ATTENDANCE HOTLINE - 507.379.5344

Kelly Kalis, Attendance

kelly.kalis@alschools.org


Colette Lillibridge, Health Office

colette.lillibridge@alschools.org


Officer Ted Herman, Police Liaison

ted.herman@alschools.org


Jenni Braaten, Social Worker

jenni.braaten@alschools.org


Heather Leiste, Social Worker

heather.leiste@alschools.org


Mary Larscheid, Social Worker

mary.larscheid@alschools.org


Tara Roberts, Student Services

tara.roberts@alschools.org