Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 10.30.22

Good morning!

We have an exciting week ahead with our work towards partnering with parents & families to support our students for fall conferences. Port Susan staff wanted to share a quick checklist for student reflection so they can be empowered to learn. We will make copies of this to have during our conferences and begin to use this list for student reminders throughout our Monday lessons as well. As a staff, the more consistent we are with our expectations and routines, the more we set our students up for success.


PSMS Success Plan Checklist

  • Did I remember my materials for success - Chromebook, pencils, etc?

  • Did I charge up my Chromebook last night?

  • Did I check my homework folder for assignments and tests?

  • Did I use my Advisory work time wisely?

  • Do I know my AR goal and have my AR book?

  • Did I check Skyward/Google Classroom?

  • Is Power Hour a good option for me?

  • If you were absent, did you get work you missed?

  • Am I using my class time wisely and giving my best effort?

  • Am I using my To Do List to prioritize my work?

Big picture

Advisory - Emotions Matter

This past week, we discussed recognizing our emotions and where we are at with our emotions in relationship to a learning activity and/or social interaction.

  • Emotions come and go throughout the day

  • Emotions can be mild, intense, or anywhere in between

  • There are no good or bad emotions

  • There are good and bad ways of expressing or acting on emotions

  • Learning how to express emotions in an acceptable way is a skill

  • Our goal is to learn how to:

    • Recognize

    • Understand

    • Label

    • Express

    • Regulate

Yale Center for Emotional Intelligence: Mood Meter Overview

Mood Meter Reflection

  • Look at the mood meter (below) & think about the different emotions

  • Reflect on how they move from low energy to high energy, and unpleasant to pleasant

  • What is a time you remember feeling one of the emotions in the red/yellow/green/blue zone?

    • What caused that feeling?

    • How did it feel physically?

    • What did you do?

    • Did you want to keep feeling that way or feel a different way?

*All feelings are valid, even if we don’t want to feel that way

Big picture

Spookfest

At Port Susan Middle School on Monday, October 31st from 2:10-4:00, our students are all invited to Spookfest. We will watch a movie in the cafeteria, volleyball/basketball in the gym, and last but not least in the library there will be games. The lobby will have concessions (additional cost) provided by our PTO. Tickets will be $5 along with a permission slip from parents. Last opportunity to purchase tickets will be Monday morning before school or at lunch. Students may wear their costumes, but please no full masks or face paint (we need to be able to recognized all students). If a face mask is part of their costume, we ask they wear it on top of their head or hold it throughout the event. In addition, school rules will still be followed and this includes no use of cell phones unless given permission by an adult as needed.
Big picture

Conference Days *November 2-4

Teacher conferences are available by request if you would like to sit down with a teacher to discuss your student’s academic progress, performance at school, and goals for improvement. Conferences will take place on Wednesday, November 2nd and Thursday November 3rd. If you would like to set up a conference with an individual teacher, please email or call the office directly to set up an appointment time.


We will be on an early release schedule Wednesday, November 2nd through Friday, November 4th for fall conferences. Student schedules will be early release (7:40 - 10:40 a.m.) for those three days. There will be no late start on Wednesday, November 2nd.


Bell Schedule (November 2nd - November 4th):

Period 1 7:40-8:12

Period 2 8:15-8:42

Period 3 8:45-9:12

Period 4 9:15-9:42

Period 5 9:45-10:12

Period 6 10:15-10:40

Spirit Assembly

We had our first spirit assembly on Friday. I want to thank Mrs. Harrington and our leadership students for organizing the event as well as Mr. Bletscher and the band for providing ongoing entertainment. It was a great time!

Student Engagement

This week, Mrs. White's cultures class made Empanadas. They turned out delicious and what a great hands on activity for students.

Student Involvement

We have a number of opportunities for all students throughout the year. Along with the clubs listed below, we also have Power Hour, which is a homework support time for students on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. If you have any questions about these clubs, more information is on google classrooms for students or parents can call the office. These are all a great way to meet new people and get involved at Port Susan Middle School.
Big picture

Week of 10/24 through 10/28

Monday:

Costume Day

*No blood/gore, no full face paint/mask, no weapons/replica of weapons*

Regular Schedule

Advisory Unstuck Protocol (Crysty & Cherae)

Spookfest *Information below


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Academic Focus Advisory

Basketball vs LaVenture - Full schedule HERE


Wednesday:

NO LATE START

1/2 day schedule *below

Red Wednesday

Conferences


Thursday:

1/2 day schedule

Conferences

Basketball vs Anacortes - Full schedule HERE


Friday:

1/2 day schedule

Last day of Quarter 1


Bell Schedule (November 2nd - November 4th):

Period 1 7:40-8:12

Period 2 8:15-8:42

Period 3 8:45-9:12

Period 4 9:15-9:42

Period 5 9:45-10:12

Period 6 10:15-10:40


Future Dates

November 11: No School (Veterans Day)


Student Calendar HERE


Linked below are previous communications. Please continue to reach out with any questions you have. You can email me directly (calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu) or call our office at 360.629.1360

August 21st

August 28th

September 4th

September 11th

September 18th

September 25th

October 2nd

October 9th

October 16th

October 23rd

District Information

Chat with a School Board Member...

The School board wants to hear from you!

The Board of Directors is setting a variety of dates, times and locations to meet with their constituents throughout the school year. Board members look forward to listening and learning about the communities' opinions, suggestions, and concerns. There is no agenda for these events; they are completely informal and anyone can attend.

Listed below are upcoming fall dates - additional dates will be set later in the school year. All events start at 6:00 PM and will be held in the school library:

October 25, Director Natalie Hagglund at Twin City Elementary
October 27, Director Ken Christoferson at Cedarhome Elementary
November 1, Director Charlotte Murry at Elger Bay Elementary
November 3, Director Al Schreiber at Stanwood Elementary
November 8, Director Miranda Evans at Utsalady Elementary

Discussions on School Boundaries

A community group has been formed to help advise the district and school board on how we use, maintain, and develop our facilities. This year, the group (Capital Facilities Advisory Committee/CFAC) will advise on addressing overcrowding at several elementary schools. In partnership with CFAC, we may be adjusting our school boundaries to accommodate for growth at the elementary level. No changes will take place in the current school year. CFAC is in the early stages of making recommendations to address this issue. We need your perspective! If you would like to join CFAC, please email ROvenell@stanwood.wednet.edu or simply complete this form.

Career & Technical Education

The Career & Technical Education (CTE) Program is looking for business and industry leaders to serve as part of the Stanwood-Camano School District Career and Technical Education (CTE) advisory committee(s). These committees advise, assist and provide support and advocacy for quality CTE programs. Advisory committee members are business and industry volunteers representing occupational areas that have feeder programs taught in our public schools. Members have the opportunity to learn more about the CTE program and instructors are able to increase their understanding of the job market, employers' needs, and community opportunities.
CTE advisory committees:

  • Provide information to update, modify, expand, and improve the quality of programs
  • Support and strengthen the partnerships between business, labor, the community, and education
  • Work with students and educators to support real-world experiences and applications
  • Make recommendations that strengthen and expand the CTE curriculum, and provide assistance in implementing these recommendations
  • Identify and validate academic and occupational competencies, determine priorities, and review and evaluate programs
  • Communicate long-term goals and objectives of the CTE programs to students, parents/guardians, employers, and the community

Click Here to learn more.
If you are interested in joining our CTE Advisory Committees, please Click Here to sign up.

Operation School Bell

Dear Families,


Our school district is fortunate to have access to Operation School Bell ®, a program offered by

the Assitance Leagues of Everett ® for students who are in need of new clothes. To qualify for

assistance, a child must be enrolled full time and qualify for the free or reduced lunch program.


The process only takes a few minutes to get started and involves basic information.

In order to participate in this program, it is important that you complete the necessary forms for

EACH child. You can make a copy of the form if you need more, or you can reach out to your

child’s school and request additional copies.

There are options this year for how you would like to receive your clothing. You can choose to

have a volunteer shop for you child and a bag of clothing will be delivered to your child’s school

OR there will be a designated day (undetermined at this time) where your child, with your

permission, will travel with district staff to the facility in Everett to shop for their own clothing

items.


This program is for all SCSD students in preschool through 8 th grade. High school students

participate in a portion of Operation School Bell called “Teen Retail.” Please contact Azra

Grudic, Student Support Advocate, if you have a HS student in need of clothing:

agrudic@stanwood.wednet.edu


Please note that each child can only attend Operation School Bell ® ONCE each school year

(through either the Stanwood-Camano School District or another program such as ECEAP).

To participate in Operation School Bell® your student can pick up a packet from the front office

staff at any time, or you can contact Amy Hart, Student Support Advocate to get the paperwork:

ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu or 360-965-8249.


Thank you,


Amy Hart

Student Support Advocate

Stanwood-Camano School District

Middle School Lunch Menus/Information

Click HERE for Food Service

Thank you!

Cherae Almanza, Principal calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tamara Pedersen (6-7 Math) tpedersen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Stunz (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) lstunz@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Grace Gale is Jeffrey Trammell jtrammell2@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joshua Keaton (7/8 History) jkeaton@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6 Social Studies) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History & ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Amy Hart (Student Support Advocate) ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu

Taylor Little (Mental Health Therapist) tlittle@stanwood.wednet.edu


The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.