Dermatology Grand Rounds

Grand Rounds

Wednesday, May 13th, 8am-12pm

676 North Saint Clair Street, Suite 1600 (16th Floor)

Presenting at 8:00 am

An Update on Current Research in Dermatology

EphA2 negatively regulates EGFR to promote keratinocyte differentiation

Bethany Perez- White, PhD

Presenting at 10:45am

Clinical Perspective on Male Genital Dermatology

Dr. Anthony P. Hall

Associate Professor, Deakin University School of Medicine Australia

Dr. Anthony Hall is currently in full-time dermatology practice and Director of Baycity Dermatology, Geelong West, Australia. He graduated from the Faculty of Medicine at Monash University with Honours in 1978. After completing his Fellowship with the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners in 1985 he spent 14 years in full-time general medical practice in Geelong. In 1997 he commenced training in dermatology with the Australasian College of Dermatologists and was awarded Fellow of the Australasian College of Dermatologists in 2002.

Dr. Hall’s clinical interests include genital dermatology and teaching medical students, dermatology trainees and general practitioners interested in dermatology. He is currently an Associate Professor, Deakin University School of Medicine Australia. Outside of medicine he is an amateur naturalist and tries to visit as many volcanoes as possible while playing tennis and golf poorly.

Moderator: Joan Guitart, MD

Schedule of Events:

8:00 am - 9:00 am

Research Presentations

9:00 am–9:30 am

Patient Viewing

9:30 am–10:30 am

Case Discussion

10:45 am-12:00 pm

Main Presentation

Overall meeting objectives:

At the conclusion of this activity, participants should be able to:

1. Discuss new technology used in addressing dermatologic problems.

2. Understand the choices and risks for treating skin disease.

3. Discuss the ethical issues that arise in patient care.

4. Recognize the relevance of new laboratory discoveries to clinical issues.

Accreditation Statement:

The Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

Credit Designation Statement:

The Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine designates this live activity for a maximum of 4 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. Physicians should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Course Director:

Disclosure: Amy S. Paller, MD, MS has disclosed the following relevant financial relationships:

Serves as a consultant (with honoraria ) for the following companies: AbbVie, Anacor Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Celgene Corporation, Chugai Pharma, Galderma Laboratories, L.P. LEO Pharma US, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corp., Onset Dermatologics, Promius Pharma, LLC., Scioderm, Shire, and Stiefel a GSK company.

Serves as a Principal Investigator (no honoraria) for the following companies: Amgen, Anacor Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Scioderm, and TopMD.

FSM’s listed CME Leadership and Staff have nothing to disclose: John X. Thomas, Jr., PhD, Sr. Associate Dean for Medical Education, Genevieve Napier, CME Director, Jen Banys, Michelle Mallery, and Tristan Brown, CME Project Specialists.


Drs. Lauren Graham, Anthony Hall, Han Peng, Bethany Perez White and June Robinson have nothing to disclose.

Sponsored by: Department of Dermatology

The next Grand Rounds will be held Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Presenting at 10:45 am

Robert S. Kirsner, MD, PhD

Professor, Vice Chairman & Stiefel Laboratories Chair

Department of Dermatology & Cutaneous Surgery

Chief of Dermatology University of Miami School of Medicine

Big image