Tohoku, Japan Earthquake

By: Megan Hansana

Major Tectonic Plates

The major Tectonic Plates are Pacific, South American, North American, Eurasian, African, Indo-Australian, and Antarctic Plates.

What does Divergent, Transform, & Convergent mean?


Divergent means dividing which is

two plates are dividing or moving apart from each other.


Transforming means sliding which is when

two plates are rubbing against each other to create something such as an earthquake.


Convergent means colliding which are

two different plates forming together to create a mountain or something similar.

Background About Earthquakes

Earthquakes occur when rock underneath the earth breaks on a fault. Then releases energy which causes waves to make the ground shake.