Structure of the Constitution

Big image

Article I- Legislative Branch (Lance)

The first Article of the constitution goes over the Legislative Branch. The Legislative Branch is the law-making portion of the Government and is called Congress. It is made up of the House of Representatives, based on population, and the Senate, two representatives per state. Article I highlights the responsibilities of the Legislative Branch.
Big image

Article II- Executive Branch (Enters)

Article II of the constitution details the Executive branch, which is in charge of enforcing laws. It outlines the responsibilities of the President, Vice President, and the cabinet of Advisers. It also sets requirements for the position and explains the election process through the electoral college.
Big image

Article III- Judicial Branch (Jewish)

Article III of the constitution goes over the Judicial Branch of the United States. The responsibility of the Judicial branch is to interpret laws and determine constitutionality. The judicial branch includes all of the courts in the United States, including the Supreme Court. Article III also details the appointment process of Supreme Court judges.

Article IV- State Relations (Synagogue)

Article IV of the constitution is about the states of the union. It details relations between states including prosecution procedures. Article IV also describes the process of admitting a a new state into the union. The fourth article decrees that all state governments must be representative democracies.

Article V- Amendments (And)

Article V describes the process of changing, or amending, the constitution. The first step is either for 2/3 of states or Congress to propose an amendment. The second step is for either 3/4 of state law-making bodies or special state conventions to approve/ratify the amendment. It is a lengthy and rare process for an amendment to be added to the constitution.

Article VI- Supremacy (Sees)

Article VI most importantly includes the Supremacy Clause, which, in summary, states that in a dispute between a state government and federal government, the federal government wins. Less important parts of this Article include the institution of Oaths for elected officials and the handling of debt prior to the new constitution.

Article VII- Ratification (Rabbi)

Article VII details the process in which the new constitution must be ratified. It states, "The Ratification of the Conventions of nine States, shall be sufficient for the Establishment of this Constitution between the States so ratifying the Same.”