By:Addie Taylor

The Planets!!!

After the discovery of Pluto in 1930, students began to learn all of the nine planets. But that all changed in the early 1990's. In 2006 they officially named Pluto a dwarf planet. But many people still cling to the 'nine planets'.

These are the planets and the order you will find them in!









These planets orbit the center of our solar system, which is the Sun, in a constant circle.

Inner and outer Planets and some Characteristics

INNER ~What they have in Common~

-Mercury---> They are all small

-Venus---> They are solid, rocky planets

-Earth---> Thin Atmosphere

-Mars ----> Mercury and Venus have no moons

OUTER ~What they have in common~

-Jupiter----> Very Large

-Saturn-----> almost entirely gas

-Uranus-----> nicknamed the Gas Giants

-Neptune-----> Many moons

(the title is a link)

So Galillean Moons are Jupiters 4 moons. They were discovered about January 1610 by Galileo Galilei. The names of the moons are lo, Europa, Ganymede, and Callisto.

Comets, Meteors, and Astroids


a comet is a small icy rock in our solar system, when it passes close to the sun it heats up and begins to outgas and makes an atmosphere and sometimes a tail after its trail was made.


some people call them shooting stars or falling stars. But they are not stars at all. They are streaks of light but they only last a few seconds. (think of them as very small asteriods).


They are beleived to be left over from the Solar System 4.6 billion years ago. They are round or irregular shapes that are several hundred km's long but can also be very small.