All about rocks

By: Ana Meulenberg

Types of rocks

There are only 3 types of rocks. They are: Igneous, Metamorphic and Sedimentary rocks.


Igneous rocks are formed when magma or lava cools down. Igneous rocks are identified by the holes or bubbles in them.


Sedimentary rocks are formed when the elements wear rocks down into tiny particles of dust, sand and soil. After a while they are cemented together and hardened. Sedimentary rocks are identified by the different color grains and layers.


Metamorphic rocks are formed when igneous or sedimentary rocks change after being exposed to extreme heat or pressure without melting. Metamorphic rocks usually have shiny crystals in them.

The rock cycle

Big image

What would happen to a rock over a million years?

Rocks from mountains get weathered and eroded and then the broken rocks in a form of dust will eventually get carried by a river into the ocean. It then sinks to the bottom and it compacts forming a sedimentary rock. Then when the temperature changes and rises the minerals inside the rock start to change. This new rock is now a metamorphic rock. This cycle can go on for so many millions of years. So I think that over a million years this rock may go through this cycle hundreds of times.

Interesting facts about rocks

Did you know?
That Basalt is the most common rock found on earth
The layers on Sedimentary rocks are arranged according to their density
A rock that you pick up from anywhere could have already been millions of years old and gone through all the transformations
There are over 700 different types of Igneous rocks identified

Metamorphic rocks are called so, because they always start off as another rock

95% of the Earth's crust is made of Igneous rock

The Rock Cycle
Rocks Types & Rocks Cycle - Video for Kids by

Thank you for reading my flyer!