MGM 8th Grade House News

October 21, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 8th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 8th-grade house highlights. These newsletters will be emailed every Friday.

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Take a Stand Expedition

Our expedition in 8th grade, Take a Stand, has officially begun with our kick off - a flash mob led by our 8th-grade teachers, the viewing and debriefing of the movie, Hidden Figures, and a morning of community experts. Our students will be asked to Take a Stand and bring about action to an individual passion. We are very proud of the work that has taken place thus far. Our students will explore two guiding questions throughout the next couple of months. They are:

1. Why take a stand?

2. How do I, others, and organizations take a stand?

MGM Counseling Department - Follow us on Twitter: @mgmcounseling

MGM PTO NEWS

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.

PTO APPRECIATES MGMS STAFF LUNCHEON

If you would like to help with the MGMS Staff Appreciation Luncheon, please use this Sign up Genius Link.

PTO FUNDRAISER

Big picture

Basketball Tryouts

Check out times and dates for upcoming Basketball Tryouts.

ENCORE NEWS

Concert Choir (7th and 8th Grade) After School Rehearsal - Friday, Oct. 26 - 3:45pm-5:15pm in the MGM Choir Room


Save the Date!

Fall Dance Showcase, featuring original student choreography

Thursday November 8th, MGM Auditorium

6:00pm- 6th & 7th grades combined show

7:30pm- 8th grade show

8TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: See Schoology for updates


ENGLISH I: See Schoology for updates


PRE-ALGEBRA: Analyzing Graphs Quiz on Wednesday. (10/24)


ALGEBRA I: Ch. 4 Test on Tuesday (10/23)


GEOMETRY: Unit 2 Summative Assessment Wednesday (10/24)


SCIENCE : Independent portion of the Accident at Ginny Lane Project will be Monday (10/22) You can prepare by reviewing documents found in Schoology.


SOCIAL STUDIES: Civil Rights Movement (1-5 & 1-6) Test is Tuesday 10/23

African American Hall of Fame Project Final Video is due Monday 10/29 ***UPDATED DEADLINE***


WORLD LANGUAGES: Please click on the link to view assessments.

HOUSE HAPPENINGS

8th Grade Science students present their findings of a problem-based unit that involved an accident at Ginny Lane. The students were asked to make a claim and provide evidence to support their claim, while also using scientific force and motion concepts. They did an amazing job presenting their information to a panel of teachers and local police officers.

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.

Administration:

Dr Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell-jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net

House Leader

Ashley Holmes aholmes@lexington1.net


8th Grade Core Teachers

Please see the attached information for 8th grade core teachers. Each content area also provided tips for success in these classes.


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

French - Catherine Pontens-Alemu - cpontens-alemu@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish - Hilda Duarte - hduartegomez@lexington1.net

Spanish - Filder Segura - fsegura@lexington1.net

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We look forward to a great school year!