Welcome To Botswana



The land is predominantly flat to gently undulating tableland, although there is some hilly country, where mining is carried out. The Karlahari Desert is in the central and the southwest. Botswana is a landlocked country located in Southern Africa, north of South Africa. Botswana occupies an area of 600,370 square kilometres (231,800 sq mi), of which 585,000 km2 (226,000 sq mi) are land. Botswana has land boundaries of combined length 4,013 kilometres (2,494 mi), of which the constituent boundaries are shared with Nambiai, for 1,360 km (850 mi); South Africa 1,840 km (1,140 mi); Zimbabwe, 813 km (505 mi) and Zambia, less than 1 km (0.62 mi). Much of the population of Botswana is concentrated in the eastern part of the country.


5 important events in Botswana's History

1. 1867 - European gold prospectors arrive, mining begins. 1966 - Independence from Great Britain.

2. 1890 - British protectorate is extended to Chobe river. 1967 - Diamonds discovered at Orapa.

3. 1961 - Seretse Khama appointed to Executive Council.

4. 1967 - Diamonds discovered at Orapa.

5. 1977 March - Botswana Defence Force is established.


Besides referring to the language of the dominant people groups in Botswana, Setswana is the adjective used to describe the rich cultural traditions of the Batswana - whether construed as members of the Setswana ethnic groups or of all citizens of Botswana. Bot swana means "place of Tswana" in the dominant national language ( Set swana), and the citizenry are called Bat swana, or Tswana people. The term Batswana, however, bears a double meaning.
Hymne national du Botswana