Serving from Each Group

David Basurto, Jacquelin Macias

What are the five food groups?

The five food group categories are Vegetables, Fruits, Grains, Dairy, Proteins and foods.

  • The vegetables category contains, vegetables and legumes/beans.
    • The Fruit category contains apples, grapes, orange juice, bananas.
    • The Grains category contains grain (cereal) foods, mostly wholegrain and/or high cereal fibre varieties.
    • The Dairy category contains milk, yoghurt cheese and/or alternatives, mostly reduced fat.
    • The Proteins and Food category contains lean meats and poultry, fish, eggs, tofu, nuts and seeds legumes/beans.

How many servings from each food group do I need each day?

Based on a 2,000-calorie daily food plan, you need to eat:

  • 2.5 cups of vegetables
  • 2 cups of fruit
  • 6 ounces of grains
  • 3 cups dairy
  • 5.5 ounces of protein and food