Longhorn Stampede

2018-19: Leading the Herd (16)

For Your Calendar (check back for updates)

Monday, December 17 - School Wide Pajama Day

Tuesday, December 18 - Holiday Parties:

1st grade, 9:30

ABLE, 11:00

3rd grade, 11:30

2nd grade, 1:30

Wednesday, December 19 - Early Release, 1 pm - Schedule Change, no lunch visitors

Wednesday, December 19 - Holiday Parties:

Kindergarten, 9:15

Life Skills, 11:00

4th Grade, 11:15

Thursday, December 20 - Early Release, 1 pm - Schedule Change, no lunch visitors

Thursday, December 20 - Holiday Parties

PreK, 9:15

5th Grade, 9:30

Friday, December 21 - Winter Break Begins

Friday, December 21 - Choir sings at Operation Blue Elf, Mont. County Fair Grounds

Monday, January 7 - Staff Return (Don't worry when you see cars in the parking lot!)

Tuesday, January 8 - Students Return

Thursday, January 10 - Tribe Day

Tuesday, January 15 - PTA Meeting, 12 pm

Tuesday, January 15 - Report Cards go Home

Wednesday, January 16 - Garden Day for 3rd Grade

Monday, January 21 - Staff & Student Holiday

Thursday, January 24 - MISD 5th Grade Choir Concert

Wednesday, January 25 - Garden Day for 2nd Grade

Saturday, January 26 - Choir sings at Texas A&M Basketball Game

Monday, February 4 - 100th Day of School

Tuesday, February 5 - Progress Reports go Home

Thursday, February 7 - Tribe Day

Thursday, February 14 - 2nd-5th Grade Class Valentine Activities throughout the day

Thursday, February 14 - 9:30 PK & Kdg Valentine Parties; 12:30 1st grade Valentine Parties

Monday, February 18 - Random Acts of Kindness Week

Friday, February 22 - Go Texan! Day

Thursday, March 7 - Tribe Day

Friday, March 8 - 2nd Grade Western Program

Monday, March 11-Friday, March 15 Spring Break

Tuesday, March 26 - Report Cards go Home

Wednesday, April 3 - Spring Pictures

Monday, April 8 - Volunteer Appreciation Week

Tuesday, April 9 - STAAR Test: 4th Grade Writing; 5th Grade Math

Wednesday, April 10 - STAAR Test: 5th Grade Reading

Monday, April 15 - Book Fair This Week

Monday, April 15 - Lunch with Loved Ones: 10:30 - PK/K; 12:30 - 3rd Grade

Tuesday, April 16 - Progress Reports go Home

Tuesday, April 16 - Lunch with Loved Ones: 11:00 - 4th Grade; 1:00 - 5th Grade

Wednesday, April 17 - Lunch with Loved Ones: 11:30 1st Grade

Thursday, April 18 - Lunch with Loved Ones: 12:00 - 2nd Grade

Thursday, April 18 - Kindergarten Graduation Pictures

Friday, April 19 - Good Friday Holiday for Staff & Students

Thursday, April 25 - Tribe Day Showcase

Friday, April 26 - 1st Grade Program, 8:45

The Leader in Me

This week our students discussed principles of Habit 2: Begin with the End in Mind

Students dove deeper into Habit 2 by thinking about long-term goals for the new year. Our students have personal WIGs (Wildly Important Goals) that they have been tracking this year. It has been so much fun celebrating when someone accomplishes their WIG! In 2019 we will help them add an academic WIG. We are practicing writing and tracking goals in the format below. What are your goals for 2019?


Highly Effective Practice: Set long-term goals in this helpful format: "From X to Y by when..."

Lone Star Monthly Lunch Menus

Gift Card Request

Parents, we are asking that you consider picking up/sending a $10 gift card to our school. These will be used for staff and student prizes. You may drop it at the front desk or send in with your child. Thank you for helping us "raise the praise"!


Thank you so much:

Many LSE Families, including

Gockel Family

Robbins Family

Lemaux Family

Colbert Family

Truitt Family

Conner Family

Jones Family

Tallas Family

Redell Family

Big picture
Big picture