BMS Pirate Parent News

11/22/21

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Belton School District Spelling Bee

WINNER of District Spelling Bee:

Congratulations to Eli Gray, the Belton School District Spelling Bee Champion! He will move on to compete in the regional spelling bee on March 16th at 10:30am located at Ray Pec Administrative Building to qualify for the Scripps National Spelling Bee Competition.
Big picture

Pirate Pantry Food Drive & Donations

Thank you to all of our students and families that have donated both money and food to our Pirate Pantry. Our families that utilize the Pirate Pantry are thankful for all of your donations. Our two hat days raised a total of $182 and we had lots of nonperishable items donated in our advisory classes.
Big picture

You Matter Belton

Thank you to the Belton Education Foundation, parent volunteers, community volunteers, and district administration for helping to pass out purple highlighters for our first YOU Matter Belton day. Students were provided with purple highlighters with the You Matter Belton crisis text line number for anyone who is in crisis and needs assistance.
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Thanksgiving Break

Don’t forget-we will be out of school Wednesday, November 24th-Monday, November 29th for Thanksgiving Break! Enjoy your time with your family and friends!
Big picture
Big picture

Upcoming Events

Monday, November 22, 2021

  • BMS Wrestling @ Harrisonville

  • 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

  • BMS Boys Basketball vs Ray/Pec East @ Home

  • 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

  • BMS Girls Basketball @ Ray-Pec East MS

  • 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

  • BMS Wrestling @ Delta Woods

Monday, November 29, 2021

  • BSD No School: Staff Professional Development Day

  • BMS Wrestling @ Grain Valley

  • 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Tuesday, November 30, 2021

  • BMS MS Boys Basketball @ Brittany Hill

  • 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

  • BMS Girls Basketball vs Brittany Hill @ Home

  • 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Wednesday, December 1, 2021

  • BMS Wrestling @ Home

  • 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Thursday, December 2, 2021

  • BMS Boys Basketball @ Osage Middle School

  • 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

  • BMS Girls Basketball vs Osage Trail @ Home

  • 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Saturday, December 4, 2021

  • BMS Wrestling @ Campbell

  • 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

STAR Testing

On December 8th and 9th our students will be taking the STAR test for Math and Reading during Math and ELA classes. It is important for our students to perform their best on these tests. We use the information gathered from the tests to make decisions regarding enrollment in courses, applications for virtual education, and other educational decisions for our students. Make sure your student gets a good night’s sleep and is to school on time and ready to test on these days!

Frozen Jr

BMS Students have been working on this fall's musical, Frozen JR, since late September. Frozen JR. is based on the 2018 Broadway musical, and brings Elsa, Anna, and the magical land of Arendelle to life - onstage! The show features all of the memorable songs from the animated film, plus five new songs written for the Broadway production. A story of true love and acceptance between sisters, Frozen JR. expands upon the emotional relationship and journey between Princesses Anna and Elsa. When faced with danger, the two discover their hidden potential and the powerful bond of sisterhood. With a cast of beloved characters and loaded with magic, adventure, and plenty of humor, Frozen JR. is sure to thaw even the coldest heart!

Tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for children/students. You can get tickets here: https://our.show/bmsfrozen

During intermission you will be able to enjoy an art show displaying students work from Art 7, Art 8, and 3D Media.

Big picture
Big picture

Office Hours

Monday - Friday, 7:00am - 3:00pm

816-489-7060 - Front Office

BMS@bsd124.org - Front Office


Administrators


Head Principal - Jennifer Paschall - jpaschall@bsd124.org

8th grade - Laura Westhusin - lwesthustin@bsd124.org

7th grade/Athletic Director - James Beard - jbeard@bsd124.org



Administrative Assistants


Lead/Finance - Stephanie Bell - sbell@bsd124.org

Attendance - Sherril Barnes - sbarnes@bsd124.org

Athletics/Activities - Susan Coovert - scoovert@bsd124.org


Counseling Office


Secretary/Registrar - Carole Smith - csmith@bsd124.org

8th grade Counselor - Connie Lehmkuhl - clehmkuhl@bsd124.org

7th grade Counselor - Paula Cotton - pcotton@bsd124.org