Harry Potter

The Goblet of Fire

Author and Genre

The author of the series is J. K. Rowling and genre is fantasy.


Harry Potter: Harry is a 4th year at Hogwarts that is an orphan living with his aunt, uncle, and their son

Ron Weasley: Ron is Harry's friend and is also a wizard and lives with his mom, dad, and many siblings at the burrow.

Hermione Granger: Hermione is a wizard born from non-wizards who is Harry's other friend and is the most intelligent of the group.


Voldemort: Voldemort is an evil wizard with a dark past and killed Harry's parents and tried to do the same to Harry, but failed... At least for now he has.


Location: The setting of Goblet of Fire is mainly Hogwarts, but at the beginning takes place in the non-wizard world.

Time: The book takes place during 1994-1995.


One of the main themes in Goblet of Fire is good vs evil with Harry having to fight Voldemort and his minions. Another themes of the book is isolation with the over all alone and has a darker tone compared to the three books before it.


The main conflict of Goblet of Fire is that Harry tries to win the Triwizard Tournament and that he has to deal with the return of a past enemy. Harry and his friends also have many other side conflicts such as grades and other such things.


Quote 1: "They'll take the boy and go, there'll be no hanging around. That's if they're coming at all. Probably mistake the day. I dare say their kind don't set much store by punctuality. Either that or they drive some tinpot car that's broken d- AAAAAAAARRRRRGH!"

Quote 2: "Now, according to the Ministry of Magic, I'm supposed to teach you countercurses and leave it at that. I'm not supposed to show you what illegal Dark curses look like until you're in the sixth year...How are you supposed to defend yourself against something you've never seen? ...You need to be prepared. You need to be alert and watchful."

Author Information

J. K. Rowlings was born on the 31st of July 1965. She has won many awards, most from the Harry Potter series.

Choice Option: Series

Goblet of Fire is the 4th book in the 7 book long series.