Florence Update

May 20, 2016

Dear Florence Families,

It was another great week at Florence Elementary! We are winding down, but still have a lot going on. This week we had our Third Grade Reading Restaurant, our fourth graders visited BCI, we had our Falcon Press Celebration, hosted the Star Lab in the library, and we held our Kindergarten Orientation for next year's new friends.


Thank you to our PTA for providing snacks and a sneak peak of the Spirit Store to our new families and students during the orientation. Thanks, too, to Jamie Farrar and her volunteers for all the great work with the Falcon Press and encouraging our young authors to keep writing.


Have a great weekend!

Love,
Laura

Upcoming Dates and Events


  • May 20th: Intent to Return Forms Due Today
  • May 23rd: PTA Meeting and Fourth Grade Musical
  • May 24th: Fourth Grade Playday (rescheduled)
  • May 24th-27th: BOGO Bookfair
  • May 27th: Mayfest - Rain or Shine



End of Year Recognition Ceremonies:


  • May 31st: First Grade 10:00 a.m.
  • May 31st: Second Grade 1:30 p.m.
  • June 1st: Third Grade 9:30 a.m.
  • June 1st: Kindergarten 1:00 p.m.
  • June 2nd: Fourth Grade Graduation 8:30 a.m.

Intent to Return Survey

The Intent to Return Survey was sent home this week. Please fill it out and return it by May 20th, so that we can begin preliminary planning for the upcoming school year. If you have lost your copy, we have it posted on our website. You may access it through this link. http://campusnew.kellerisd.net/school/fes-102/

Thanks for your help!

Big image

Information Flyers and Summer Camp

We are working to keep our website up to date with all the information and summer camp flyers that are being sent to us. Please click below to access the list. (It is updated every week)


2016 Flyers

Now Accepting Class Placement Letters for the 2016-2017 School Year

We will be accepting letters for Class Placements through June 3rd. Please be sure to let us know the characteristics of your child and the learning environment that you feel he/she works best. Please do not request specific teachers or placement with friends.

You may turn in your letters to our Secretary, Dana Shumake or email her at dana.shumake@kellerisd.net.

2016-17 Instructional Calendar


  • New school times for next year 7:55-3:10. Click KISD Bell Schedule to see all K-12 school times.

Please see below for some very important links and info!

Florence Elementary

Laura Lockhart - Principal - laura.lockhart@kellerisd.net

Farah Rehman - Assistant Principal - farah.rehman@kellerisd.net

Angelina Bowen - Counselor - angelina.bowen@kellerisd.net

Leigh Anne Nelson - Nurse - leigh.nelson@kellerisd.net

Dana Shumake - Secretary - dana.shumake@kellerisd.net

Pris Brown - Receptionist/Attendance - priscilla.brown@kellerisd.net

Jeanne Devine - Receptionist - jeanne.devine@kellerisd.net

Georgia Altom - PTA President - georgiaaltom@gmail.com