Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Sherry Jones' Seducing the Pen Virtual Author's Tour

Big picture

I've been called the World's Most Dangerous Author, but that's only true if you fear strong women. --Sherry Jones, best known for her international bestseller The Jewel of Medina.

JOSEPHINE BAKER’S LAST DANCE


From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.



Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker—actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world—in Josephine Baker’s Last Dance.


In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page.


With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today.



Purchase Josephine Baker’s Last Dance in paperback, ebook, and audiobook formats on Simon and Schuster’s website ( also available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, BooksAMillion, Indiebound, Kobo, and other sites).

Enter the Seducing the Pen Giveaway

OPTION 1: Like this page so the author will know you stopped by! Submit a photo of you and the book, Josephine Baker’s Last Dance or email host Ella D. Curry a copy of your receipt for the purchase of the book. Send photos, iPad/Kindle screenshots and all emails to: edc_dg@yahoo.com before May 30, 2019.



OPTION 2: Share this tour page with your network using the social media buttons at the top of the page. Use the hashtag [#SeducingThePen] so that we can follow you online. Each share on Facebook, Instagram and/or Facebook is one entry in the drawing for the basket shown below. Register with the form below.


Start of Giveaway: March 5, 2019

End of Giveaway: May 30, 2019

Adult US citizens only. Shipped via UPS.

Tour Page URL: https://www.smore.com/t5v9q



Email Ella D. Curry at: edc_dg@yahoo.com with any questions. Submit all emails before May 30, 2019. We will contact you via DM or email to notify you of all winners. Giveaway hosted by EDC Creations Media Group and Black Pearls Magazine.



Big picture
JBLD Narrated by Adenrele Ojo

[Video] Youtube Video Introduction Narrated Expertly by Adenrele Ojo. Click here to watch.

https://youtu.be/lHd0amFM3oo
https://youtu.be/iF8EbjOua58
https://youtu.be/GqXfwU1oors

JOIN THE SEDUCING THE PEN BLOG TOUR

Big picture

Seducing The Pen Tour Stops


Nothing But Books Blog

Arlena's Book Reviews

Maureen's Musings

Lighthouse Academy

Beach Bound Books

Inspire to Read Blog

Harper's Court Literary Blog



Black Pearls Magazine Instagram Takeover

Part 1: https://www.instagram.com/p/BuHjEVBAd2f

Part 2: https://www.instagram.com/p/BuIDLkQg0nJ



Monday, March 4

Book Feature & Tour Kick Off at PUYB Virtual Book Club


Wednesday, March 6

Book Teaser Feature at PUYB Book Teasers

Book Featured at T’s Stuff


Thursday, March 7

Guest Blogging at Mythical Books


Friday, March 8

Book Featured at What Is That Book About


Monday, March 11

Book Review at Sefina Hawke’s Books


Tuesday, March 12

Guest Blogging at Lori’s Reading Corner


Wednesday, March 13

Book Featured at Book Bloggin’ Princess


Thursday, March 14

Book Review at 100 Pages A Day


Monday, March 18

Book Featured at Stacking My Bookshelf


Tuesday, March 19

Interview at I’m Shelf-ish


Wednesday, March 20

Book Featured at Write and Take Flight


Friday, March 22

Interview at Confessions of an Eccentric Bookaholic


Monday, March 25

Guest Blogging at Dear Reader, Love Author


Tuesday, March 26

Book Featured at C.A. Milson’s Author Blog


Wednesday, March 27

Guest Blogging at The Dark Phantom Reviews


Thursday, March 28

Book Featured at Lisa – Queen of Random


Friday, March 29

Book Featured at The Avid Reader


Monday, April 1

Book Review at Amy’s Booket List


Tuesday, April 2

Guest Blogging at The Story Behind the Book


Wednesday, April 3

Interview at The Literary Nook


Thursday, April 4

Guest Blogging at Blogging Authors


Monday, April 8

Interview at The Writer’s Life


Tuesday, April 9

Guest Blogging at My Bookish Pleasures


Wednesday, April 10

Book Featured at A Title Wave


Thursday, April 11

Book Featured at I’m All About Books


Monday, April 15

Guest Blogging at Straight From the Author’s Mouth


Wednesday, April 17

Book Featured at What The Cat Read


Thursday, April 18

Book Review at FUONLYKNEW


Monday, April 22

Book Featured at Beyond the Books


Wednesday, April 24

Book Review at Nay’s Pink Bookshelf


Thursday, April 25

Book Review at Books for Books


Friday, April 26

Book Review at A Chick Who Reads

Book Review at StoreyBook Reviews

Big picture

Listen to Sherry Read from JBLD

Listen to the audio introduction here:

http://www.audioacrobat.com/note/Cw3wm04X


Famous for her sexually charged performances as a scantily clad Paris revue showgirl, Josephine Baker also had a secret career as a pilot and intelligence spy for the French Resistance during World War II, and as a Civil Rights activist who was the only woman invited to speak at the 1963 March on Washington.


In this revealing biographical novel, Sherry Jones revisits Josephine Baker’s difficult childhood in St. Louis, Missouri, and examines some of her many troubling experiences with discrimination that would propel her lifelong fight for racial justice.


As Josephine’s star rises in Europe, she finds herself mingling with some of the greatest artists of the Jazz age, including Pablo Picasso, Ernest Hemingway, Colette, Cole Porter, and George Gershwin.


Following her extraordinary transformation from “Tumpy” McDonald to Joséphine, “Queen of Paris,” and her momentous decision to become a citizen of France, Baker experiences personal and professional triumphs and disappointments that reveal her fascinating character in all of its complexity.

About Sherry Jones

Author and journalist Sherry Jones is best known for her international bestseller The Jewel of Medina. She is also the author of Josephine Baker’s Last Dance , The Sword of Medina, Four Sisters, All Queens, The Sharp Hook of Love, and the novella White Heart.


Sherry lives in Spokane, WA, where, like Josephine Baker, she enjoys dancing, singing, eating, advocating for equality, and drinking champagne. Visit her online at AuthorSherryJones.com.



Website: http://authorsherryjones.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sherryjones
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/sherryjones
Book Bub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/sherry-jones
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sherryjonesfanpage
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/josephinebakerslastdance
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/cybersecuritytechnologywriter
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1219600.Sherry_Jones

Articles and Media Spotlights for Josephine Baker’s Last Dance


[Article] Josephine Baker’s secret life as a World War II spy

The 20th century icon Josephine Baker was so much more than a sex symbol who danced in a skirt made of bananas. Yes, she took Paris by storm in 1925 with her “Savage Dance”—performed in little more than a strategically-placed feather—and went on to increase her fame with the infamous banana skirt which, legend has it, she designed as a joke for her first revue at the Folies-Bergère.


Josephine Baker also became, over the next twenty years: a chanteuse, or stage singer, and international star; the first black woman to star in a feature film and to headline in New York’s Ziegfeld Follies; a recording artist; an opera diva, and – the detail that most surprises and fascinates people—a spy for the French Resistance during World War II.



[Article] Black Pearls Magazine Blog

Author Revealed interview with Sherry Jones on the creation of Josephine Baker’s Last Dance.



[Article] Spokane author Sherry Jones finds inspiration in kick-ass women from the past

Sherry inspiring novel that women everywhere will find to be an important piece of literature in helping to bring about total equality in our current world.



[Article] Popsugar: Novels About Badass Women Written by Badass Women

Sherry inspiring novel that women everywhere will find to be an important piece of literature in helping to bring about total equality in our current world.



[Article] Playbill's Guide to Upcoming and Current Broadway Bio-Musicals

Josephine Baker’s Last Dance mentioned as more exciting information about Josephine in a Broadway-bound musical.



[Article] St. Louis Post-Dispatch: Josephine Baker has 'last dance'

Josephine Baker was born in segregated squalor in St. Louis in 1906 but rose to fame in France in the 1920s as a singer, dancer and all-around entertainer.



[Article] Samantha Stevenson St. Louis Magazine's associate editor.

"Josephine Baker's Last Dance," author Sherry Jones weaves milestones from the dancer's real life into a fictional narrative.



[Article] The Seattle Times Book Picks

Calling Jones’ novel “a satisfying life of one endlessly fascinating person,” Kirkus Reviews wrote that “Jones’ deft juxtaposition of Baker’s internal and external worlds throughout the novel is what readers will appreciate most.”



[Book Spotting] Novel Bookstore Memphis | Josephine Baker’s Last Dance



[Book Spotting] The Book Report | Josephine Baker’s Last Dance



[Publishing Article] Sherry Jones: Start Writing, or Shut Up



[Publishing Article] Sherry Jones: Self-Publishing The Elephant In The Room

Big picture