A Page from the Library

Springtime Resources from the D105 Library Team

Poetry Month




Don't Bring Camels in the Classroom

by Kenn Nesbitt

Don't bring camels in the classroom.
Don't bring scorpions to school.
Don't bring rhinos, rats, or reindeer.
Don't bring mice or moose or mule.


Pull your penguin off the playground.
Put your python in a tree.
Place your platypus wherever
you think platypi should be.


Lose your leopard and your lemur.
Leave your llama and your leech.
Take your tiger, toad, and toucan
anywhere but where they teach.


Send your wombat and your weasel
with your wasp and wolverine.
Hide your hedgehog and hyena
where you're sure they won't be seen.


Please get rid of your gorilla.
Please kick out your kangaroo.
No, the teacher didn't mean it
when she called the class a "zoo."


Source: http://www.poetryteachers.com/schoolpoems/schoolpoems.html


Here are some great poetry resources:


http://goo.gl/dS8Iuy - Poems and questions for each grade level -

http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/lesson-plans - Lesson plans for teaching poetry

http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem-day - Sign up for a poem a day.

http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/anthology/poems-children - Sift through poems for kids

http://storyit.com/Classics/JustPoems/ - Poems for kids

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/downloads/BHM_Elementary.pdf - Poems and questions for elementary teachers

http://www.poetry4kids.com/blog/lessons/poetry-writing-lessons/ - Teaching songs and poems

Author Visits

Hodgkins, Ideal, and Seventh Avenue schools will be hosting author and illustrator Henry Cole to our schools the week of May 18th. www.henrycole.net.
How Seinfeld inspired this picture book character

Common Sense Media - Internet Safety

Common sense media is a great source for reviews of games, movies, books, and more. You can sign up (in the top right corner) for email articles and updates.


Here is a link to 5 myths and truths about kids and internet safety:


https://www.commonsensemedia.org/blog/5-myths-and-truths-about-kids-internet-safety

Big image

Thinking ahead to Memorial Day

Lesson plan ideas for memorial day:


http://lessonplanspage.com/memorialday-htm/

Fun and laughs

Ellen Meets the ‘Apparently’ Kid, Part 1

THE LIBRARIANS ARE HERE TO HELP YOU!

Big image

Gurrie - Jennifer Sutsser at jsutsser@d105.net

Hodgkins - Tracy Cleveland at tcleveland@d105.net

Ideal - Lisa Rodkey at lrodkey@d105.net

Seventh Ave - Cathy Nestlinger at cnestlinger@d105.net

Spring Ave - Joanna Marek at jmarek@d105.net