Holifield Happenings

April 14, 2016

Upcoming Events

Apr. 21 (Thurs) - Figurative Language Project Showcase (1:30)

Apr. 22 (Fri) - Organisms and Their Environments test

Apr. 26 (Tues) - SC Ready (ELA:Writing)

Apr. 27 (Wed) - SC Ready (ELA:Reading)

Apr. 28 (Thurs) - SC Ready (Math)

Apr. 29 (Fri) - Hero Hustle; Birthday Book Lunch

May 4 (Wed) - Westward Expansion test

May 16 (Mon) - Civil War test

May 17 (Tues) - Math MAP test (9:00 am)

May 18 (Wed) - Reading MAP test (9:00 am)

May 20 (Fri) - Field Trip to Middleton Place - and a much deserved break from testing!! :-)

Heroes Hustle Fun(d) Run

Your child will bring home a packet of information on Friday. All money raised through the Hero Hustle stays at HWES. The prizes are purchased through sponsorships. If you have any questions, please let me know.


Science: We are beginning our study of Organisms and Environments this week. That test will be next Friday. Please be on the lookout for notes each day.


Reading/Writing: You are invited to join us for our Figurative Language Project Showcase on Thursday afternoon!! It will begin at 1:30 in Performer's Paradise. Mrs. Reeves and I will be combining our classes' projects for the showcase. We have comedians, artists, and writers that will be on display, so be prepared to laugh and enjoy our children's talents as they share their knowledge of Figurative Language!


In addition to preparing for the Showcase, next week will involve test prep since SC Ready is April 26-28 (week after next).


In Math, we are continuing to work with fractions. As last week's newsletter stated, the children are in different places with them, so we are working in small groups and partners. In Math, we will have to focus on test prep as well and it will likely make the children comfortable with the idea of SC Ready testing. (SC Ready will test them on 4th grade standards.)