MGM 6th Grade House News

October 18, 2019

Welcome!

Welcome to 6th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 6th-grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week on Friday!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Accessing Schoology From Home

Accessing Schoology and PowerSchool from a home or personal device

https://launchpad.classlink.com/lexington1

Schoology- Students can access Schooology using their login and password through the Launchpad link. Students can use their Chromebook to access Launchpad or enter the link above in an internet browser (i.e. Chrome, Safari, Firefox).

We recommend parents and students bookmark this Launchpad link on your home computers for easy access away from the district-issued Chromebook. Students are only able to use the Launchpad web link at this time.


Parents will continue to access Schoology using Schoology.com and entering the parent username and password you created when you set up your account. Parents can also use the Schoology app on an app-enabled device.


PowerSchool- Students and parents can access PowerSchool through the web or the app. Parents can contact the office for PowerSchool account information. Students will use their district username and password to access PowerSchool grades and attendance information. Powerschool can also be found in the Launchpad for easy access by students.

Bookmark on personal devices.

https://launchpad.classlink.com/lexington1

Yearbook

Order your yearbook now before the price of $55 goes away. This lowest price of the year also gives you great discounts on personalization. Go to www.jostensyearbooks.com or stop by the front office before it's too late.

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.


Administration:

Dr. Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell -jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


Counselor:

Dominique Sawyer dsawyer@lexington1.net


House Leader

Amanda Hammill ahammill@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Andrea Roberts- aroberts@lexington1.net

Brandi Patterson- bpatterson@lexington1.net

Joyce Perkins- jperkins@lexington1.net

Amanda Hammill- ahammill@lexington1.net


Science

Taylor Fralick- tfralick@lexington1.net

Kirsten Rasmussen- knrasmussen@lexington1.net

Mary Harbaugh- mharbaugh@lexington1.net


Math

Bill Rogers- brogers@lexington1.net

Rebecca Fischer- rfischer@lexington1.net

Tammy Hardy- thardy@lexington1.net


Social Studies

Derrick Price- dwprice@lexington1.net

Amanda Kerbis - akerbis@lexington1.net

Ben Jackson- bjackson@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jo Hanna- jhanna@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish - Loli Molina mmolinamunoz@lexington1.net

Spanish - Filder Segura - fsegura@lexington1.net

PTO

Let's show our Meadow Glen Middle School Staff our appreciation with a Spooky Spuds and Chili luncheon. The PTO is providing the potatoes (Spuds) and our wonderful cafeteria staff will be cooking them. We just need our fabulous parents to provide chili and toppings for the potatoes, some paper products and desserts. Please see the list and sign up where you can help.

All items need to be dropped off Thursday, October 24th in the office by 9AM.

Thank you all in advance for everything you do to support the PTO and our MGMS staff.


https://www.signupgenius.com/go/10C0C4CAFAE22A3FE3-mgmspooky

MGM Counseling Department

Follow the counseling center on Twitter @mgmcounseling for updates from our counselors!

6TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: Socratic Seminar Summative Tuesday, October 22, 2019


MATH: See Schoology


SCIENCE : See Schoology


SOCIAL STUDIES: See Schoology


WORLD LANGUAGES: Click here for a link to all WL updates.


Encore:


The Band Fall Concert is Tuesday October 22nd at 6:30pm in the River Bluff High School Auditorium.


DANCE: 6th & 7th Grades- Save the Date! Fall Dance Performance Information

  • MONDAY NOVEMBER 4th-- 6th & 7th Grade Dress Rehearsal:

    • 3:30-5:30, all 6th & 7th grade dance, held in MGM theatre

  • TUESDAY NOVEMBER 5th-- 6th & 7th Grade Dance Performance:

    • 6:30 (call time at 5:30, house opens at 6:00)

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We are looking forward to a great year!