Judicial Branch

By: Joey Atwood

What is the Judicial Branch

The Judicial Branch, is the Branch of Government that is in charge of punishing the laws that are broken. The Judicial Branch is suppose to make sure that if a law is broken that the person who broke the law is punished correctly. They are also there to make rules for other courts to follow, and deal with Constitutional trials.

Who is in the Judicial Branch?

The Judicial Branch consists of nine people:

Chief Justice: John G. Roberts (Republican)

And eight other Justices:

Antonin Scalia (Republican)

Anthony M. Kennedy (Republican)

Clarence Thomas (Republican)

Ruth Bader Ginsburg (Democrat)

Stephen G. Breyer (Democrat)

Samuel Anthony Alito Jr. (Republican)

Sonia Sotomayor (Democrat)

Elena Kagan (Democrat)

Do you want to be one?

To become a member you must be appointed by the President and Confirmed by the Senate. There are some unwritten requirements though. The President can appoint anyone but the Senate is there and if they do not think the person appointed is the best option, they can say no. Overall though the constitution states that there is no requirements, but you do have to get the president to appoint you and the Senate to confirm.

What do they do? What type of cases do they hear?

In the Judicial Branch is the Supreme Court. They Supreme court is suppose to make rules for all other American courts to follow. They also deal with trials, the Supreme court deals with Constitutional trials. A example of this is with the Death Penalty with Lethal Injection. If someone thinks the Death Penalty by Lethal Injection is a punishment that infringes on that persons constitutional rights, they can bring the punishment to court. If it is voted unconstitutional the Death Penalty by Lethal Injection with be taken off of the board, and could never be used again.