Hindu Caste System

By: Ali Ozymy, Sarah Hyden, and Maddie Miller

The Facts ~

The Caste system in India consists of 5 different levels of social classes, the Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaisyas, Sudras, and Pariah. The bottom level of the Caste system, the Dalit or Pariah, is considered below everyone else, and the people in that caste are often referred to as "untouchables." The highest level in the caste system in the Brahmins, and mostly consists of priests, who are considered pure and holy. This is basically how the caste system is set up...

Brahmins: priests, and academic scholars

Kshatriyas: warriors or kings

Vaisyas: merchants or artisans

Sudras: unskilled laborers

Pariah/Dalit: the "untouchables"

India's Caste System
Big image

Divine or discrimination?

The Hindu people are generally accustomed to the Caste system, however, members of the lower castes have recently taken action against discriminatory acts. Laws in India have been put into place to eliminate harsh and harmful acts towards the Pariahs, or the "untouchables". Simple things such as refusing a service like a haircut or a table at a restaurant can escalate to actual physical abuse.

A Pariah from Haryana said “When we apply for jobs, or try to get into college we have to show which community we belong to. That’s when the discrimination starts. Here in Haryana, we are still being tied to trees and beaten by the upper-caste people. No one stands up for us.”