Islamic Dietary Laws

Mr. Orren A1/A3

Big image

Muslims around the world practice the religion of Islam. The practice of Islam includes observing dietary laws which come from Islamic teachings. Islamic dietary laws define foods that are Halal, meaning lawful or permitted. Muslims avoid food and beverages that are Haram, meaning unlawful or not permitted, as outlined in the Qur'an, the holy book of Islam, as well as in the Hadith and Sunnah, the written teachings of Prophet Mohammed. Muslims do not consume pork or alcohol, and follow a humane process for the slaughter of animals for meat. Within these rules there is wide variation among the eating habits of Muslims around the world.

Halal Slaughtering

Muslims are required to slaughter their livestock by slitting the animal's throat quickly and and mercifully, reciting God’s name with the words, "In the name of God, God is Most Great". This quotation from the Qu'ran is an acknowledgement that life is sacred, and that one must kill only with God's permission, to meet one's lawful need for food. The animal is then bled completely before consumption. Meat prepared in this manner is called zabihah , or simply, halal meat.

Some Muslims will decline to eat meat if they are uncertain of how it was slaughtered. They place importance on the animal having been slaughtered in a humane fashion with the remembrance of God and gratefulness for the animal's sacrifice.

A Ramadan Dinner Menu

Chebakia Cookies and Dates

Harira Soup