BE PART OF ACURIL SIGS & CARS 2016

SHARE LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCES IN THE CARIBBEAN

Big image

PARTICIPATE ACTIVELY IN ACURIL 2016 HAITI PRESENTING YOUR LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCES


ASSOCIATION OF CARIBBEAN UNIVERSITY, RESEARCH
AND INSTITUTIONAL LIBRARIES

ACURIL 2016 HAITI


Monday, 14 March 2016


TO ALL ACURILEANS!


As we all know, the 46th ACURIL Conference, to be held in Haiti on June 5-9, 2016 is getting close. Madam president Elizabeth Pierre-Louis has chosen as the Conference theme “Leadership: A Bridge Between Tradition and Innovation in Libraries, Archives, and Museums of the Caribbean”. With that theme in mind, all Chairs of the Special Interest Groups (SIGs) and Content Area Roundtables (CARs) are planning their particular sessions to be presented during the conference.


The subthemes for the conference are:


1. Lessons from the Past: Recognizing Leaders in Caribbean Libraries

2. Developing Leadership Skills

3. Best Practices in Innovation in the Caribbean.


Many libraries throughout the Caribbean have implemented outstanding programs and methods to develop leadership skills for their staff and have developed innovative programs in many areas. You are all invited to participate and submit a presentation or workshop on any of those subthemes to share what you are doing in your particular libraries, archives or museums with our ACURIL colleagues.

If you would like to participate with a presentation, the schedule will be 15 to 20 minutes in length. If interested in presenting a workshop, the time allotted will be for one hour.

If you are interested in participating, please submit your interest to one of the following Special Interest Groups or Content Area Roundtables, identifying your name, institutional address and emails, title of presentation, and provide a brief abstract of the proposed presentation(s) not later than April 1, 2016. Content from these meetings will be published in the final program.

SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS and CHAIR(S)

Academic Libraries. Chair: Barry Baker Barry.Baker@ucf.edu (USA) Cheryl Ann Peltier-Davis Cheryl.peltier-davis@sta.uwi.edu (Trinidad and Tobago)

Archives and Documents management – Chairs: Wilfred Jean Bertrand bertrandlouissaint@gmail.com (Haiti) and Margot Thomas mariette900@yahoo.com ( St. Lucia)

Information Technologies. ChairS: Laurie Taylor laurientaylor@gmail.com (USA) , Judith Rogers, <jrogers@uvi.edu>,(US Virgin Islands)

National and Public Libraries. Chair: Astrid Britten a.britten@bibliotecanacional.aw (Aruba)

School Libraries. Chair: Cindy Jimenez Vera cindyjvera@gmail.com (Puerto-Rico)

Special Libraries. Chair: Almaluces Figueroa-Ortiz almaluces.figueroa1@upr.edu (Puerto Rico)

Research in the Information Field/ Students Roundtable. Chair: Luisa Vigo-Cepeda, luisa.vigo@upr.edu (Puerto Rico)

CONTENT AREAS ROUNDTABLES (CARs)

Agriculture, Environment and Green Libraries. Chairs: Astrid Britten (Aruba) a.britten@bibliotecanacional.aw and Luis Méndez-Márquez luis.mendez4@upr.edu (Puerto Rico)

Continuing Education and Professional Development. Chairs: Elizabeth Pierre-Louis epierrelouis@fokal.org (Haiti) Jane Smith j.smith@uvs.edu (Suriname) and Luisa Vigo-Cepeda luisa.vigo@upr.edu (Puerto Rico)

Health and Evidence-Based Practice. Chairs: Ardis Hansen hanson@usf.edu (Tampa, USA), Carmen Santos-Corrada carmen.santos4@upr.edu (Puerto Rico), Ernesta Greenidge Ernesta.Greenidge@sta.uwi.edu (Trinidad & Tobago)

Cultural Heritage. Chairs: Margo Groenewoud m.groenewoud@uoc.cw (Curacao), Bea Bazile bea.baz@gmail.com (Guadeloupe), Dorcas Bowler dbowler@bahamaslibraries.org (Bahamas) and Cindy Jiménez-Vera cindyjvera@gmail.com (Puerto Rico)

Law and Social Sciences. Chair: Hector Rubén Sánchez hrsanchez@juris.inter.edu (Puerto Rico)

Virtual Reference Services. Chairs: Jeannette Lebrón-Ramosjeannette.lebron2@upr.edu (Puerto Rico) and Kumaree Ramtahal kumaree.ramtahal@sta.uwi.edu (Trinidad & Tobago)

Your kind and prompt attention to this invitation will be most appreciated.

All the best. See you in Haiti,

Hector Ruben Sánchez, Esq.
Vice President / President Elect
hrsanchez@juris.inter.edu
Cel. 1-787-510-7537
Skype: hector.ruben.sanchez


c. Dr. Elizabeth Pierre-Louis
ACURIL President
epierrelouis@fokal.org



Dr. Luisa Vigo-Cepeda
Executive Secretary
executivesecretariat@acuril.org

Big image

ASSOCIATION OF CARIBBEAN UNIVERSITY, RESEARCH AND INSTITUTIONAL LIBRARIES

We are All ACURILEANS. Let's join in HAITI for ACURIL 2016.

Somos Todos ACURILENOS. Juntemonos en HAITI para ACURIL 2016.

Nous sommes tous ACURILEANS. Joignons en HAÏTI pour ACURIL 2016.