FALL GUNN COUNSELING NEWSLETTER

9TH GRADE - FALL

FRESHMAN YEAR

9th grade is all about transitioning to high school. We encourage students to focus on establishing good study habits, making new friends, and getting involved in school activities.

REACHING YOUR COUNSELOR

Counselor assignments can be found in Infinite Campus:


Andrea Bueno: 650-354-826, abueno@pausd.org

Jorge Chavez: 650-354-822, jchavez@pausd.org

Myesha Dickson: 650-354-8207 mdickson@pausd.org

Jonathan Fidani: 650-354-8220 jfidani@pausd.org

Derek Johanson: 650-849-7935 djohanson@pausd.org

David Leftwich: 650-354-8225 dleftwich@pausd.org

Erin Reyes: 650-354-8242 ereyes@pausd.org

Cora Ross: 650-354-8290 cross@pausd.org

9th GRADE PARENT NIGHT

Wednesday, Sep. 23rd 2020 at 6:15pm

This is an online event.

Join the counseling team for introductions and to learn about how we work with our 9th grade students and families to plan out academic, extracurricular, and college/career goals.


The virtual event can be accessed using the following Zoom link:

https://pausd.zoom.us/s/98919940346


Please use the form below to share any topics of interest or questions you would like discussed at the event.

GET CONNECTED

Spend time exploring what interests you! Although school is virtual at this time, there are many ways to try different activities, explore your passions, and make connections with your peers.


  • Join a club
  • Participate in Gunn athletics
  • Volunteer in the local community
  • Audition for music/theater productions

CLUB FAIR

The fall Club Fair will take place on September 23rd during Gunn Together and lunch. Take this opportunity to watch club promo videos, visit with club officers, and to find the right fit for you!


Here is the 2020-2021 Gunn Club List.

"LUNCH WITH YOUR COUNSELOR"

Students, we want to get to know you! Zoom in to visit with your counselor, as a questions, or just to say hello! Zoom links will be sent out via Schoology.


- Ms. Bueno: October 14th, 11:40-12:10pm

- Mr. Chavez: October 12th, 12:35-1:05pm

- Ms. Dickson: October 12th, 12:35-1:05pm

- Mr. Fidani: October 13th, 11:40-12:10pm

- Mr. Johanson: October 15th, 11:40-12:10pm

- Mr. Leftwich: October 12th, 12:35-1:05pm

- Ms. Reyes: October 16th, 11:40-12:10pm

- Ms. Ross: October 14th, 11:40-12:10pm

WELLNESS

The transition to high school takes time and can be challenging. If it hasn't quite gone the way you hoped, or if you'd like to talk it through with someone, please consider the following supports:



ACADEMICS

We encourage you to work towards developing strong study habits, organization, and time management. If you your is struggling, please consider the following supports:


  • Use your Academic Planner to as a tool to stay organized and manage your time
  • Attend Office Hours regularly for added support and instruction from teachers
  • Peer Tutoring services are available by clicking HERE

  • Communicate directly with your teacher
  • Collaborate with your counselor and SELF advisor

GUNN ATHLETICS

As of September 14th, some outdoor campus athletic facilities have been reopened for off season workouts and practice.


Continue to monitor the Gunn Athletics website for important information and updates as it pertains to upcoming athletic seasons.

PALO ALTO TEEN VOLUNTEER PROGRAM

Have a heart to serve? Help support our city by exploring ways to participate in the Palo Alto Teen Volunteer Program.

EXPERIENCING FINANCIAL HARDSHIP?

Please reach out to your student's counselor to learn about financial assistance opportunities offered in our district as well as in our local community to help your family through this challenging time.