Branches of Government

Kelsey Brandt


The three branches of the government include the Judicial, Legislative, and Executive. The Judicial Branch pertains to the supreme court and all other federal courts. The Legislative Branch includes Congress, which is separated into two parts: the House of Representatives and the Senate. Within the Executive Branch are the leaders of the main departments that make up the Cabinet who are the top advisers to the head of the Executive Branch, the President.


The founding fathers at Independence Hall in Philadelphia, PA in 1787, came to an agreement on separating the government into three branches. After the Articles of Confederation was ratified in 1781, they felt obligated to provide a secure and fair government. The idea was based on checks and balances, ensuring that no single branch or leader had prominent or exceeding power.