Re Assingment

What are the 8 dimensions of religion. Explain each.

Beliefs are a huge part in all religions, beliefs give people a discreet explanation of the world and the religions understanding of it.

Sacred Stories are told and passed down as stories about the divine or stories that keep us from doing things that are the wrong thing, it is also scriptures about myths or legends about heroic people to show us the right way.

Religious Experience is something that can take place either as an individual or in a group, its when you come to a place to be closer to your God in a way that you need to feel closer to the almighty.

Religious Ritual is a repeated and a tradition you take part in.

Social Structure is the hierarchy of the religion, in catholicism it is the Pope who is at the top of the catholic leaders who makes the rules.

Sacred Texts are often the religious books, the Bible (catholicism)

and the Korong (Buddhism)

Religious Ethics are the values of the religion and its morals, an example if the ten commandments, sent down by God.

Sacred Symbols are the symbols that represent the religions beliefs and values e.g. Cross (Catholicism) Davids Star (Judaism).

The comparison and Contrast of Catholicism and Aboriginal Spirituality

Catholicism's beliefs reside to the all merciful lord, God. In Aboriginal culture they do to have a Gods but they have different names for them in the yorta yorta religion their god is Byami. they also have many storied of how he created the Murray River as Catholicism has the creation story of how the world was created.

Sacred Stories for the indigenous people are so important because it provides them with history and rules and warnings for them, as it is for Catholicism they have stories about past events e.g. the miracles that the lord Jesus preformed.

Both of the 'religions' have a social structure of sorts. Catholicism has The Pope as the leader but in Aboriginal Spirituality they have a small group of leaders these are the Elders.

The Ecumenical Movement and the second Vatican

Ecumenical movement and what does it mean?

The word Ecumenical means Universe.

The Ecumenical Movement had the aim of working towards unity of all Christian free governing countries and had started in 1910. By 1948 the World Council of Churches was constituted, but the Catholic church didn't join for it was the true church. Today the Ecumenical movement has became a great search for unity for all the religions so that there will be no discrimination or sterilisation towards other peoples religion.

The Second Vatican

The second Vatican was started by Pope John the XXII but then continued on by Paul the VI. The reason for the second vatican was to keep up with the modern world, the church was getting out of fashion. It had great importance to the congress because it meant they could be more involved with their church and they could do their own part in the community and get closer to God.