By: Julia Hagen

Becoming part of the E.U.

Estonia became part of the E.U. in 2004. It was not one of the countries that founded the E.U.


Estonia was first part of Denmark, Sweden, Germany, and Russia. Then it got its independence in 1918. Later it became part of the USSR in 1940. Finally, because of the fall of the Soviet Union, it regained its independence in 1991.


Estonia is northeast of Europe. It is inbetween the Baltic Sea, Latvia, and Russia.


The blue in the Estonian flag represents loyalty and devotion. The black in the flag represents the soil of the country and it's dark past and suffering endured by Estonian people. Finally, the white in the flag represents the striving toward enlightenment, virtue, the color of the birch bark, and the snow.

Cities in Estonia


They have interesting artifacts. For instance, the catherdral of Saint Mary in upper Tallinn. It is one of the oldest churchs in Tallinn (around since 1219).


Estonia has many bodies of water surrounding it, the Baltic sea northwest of Estonia, followed by the gulf of Riga, lake Pskov, and gulf of Finland surrounding Estonia.


Estonia has a parliamentary republic government. A parliamentary republic is an executive branch; it derives it legitimacy from and is accountable to the legislature.


The currency used to be kroon. But the currency has been euros since 2011.

Interesting facts

Estonia was the first country to do online political voting. Estonia also has two independence days, one on February 5,1918 and the other one is on August 20,1991. He second day is a restoration of independence day. Lastly, capital Tallinn, is one of best medieval cities in Europe.