Lynx MS News

AIS West - May 2022

Hello AIS West Middle School Community,


We wish you all a happy, healthy, and restful Eid. School will resume on May 8 with full day schedule ending at 2:50pm.


The remainder of the year is filled with events and exciting learning opportunities. Please check out this entire newsletter for more details. One area we need your help with is preparation for MAP testing. Please have your students update their devices and download the NWEA MAP testing browser before returning to school on May 8.


Don't hesitate to reach out to us if you need anything. Our doors are always open!


Eid Mubarak!


Chelsea Armstrong

Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Mathias Sanders

Assistant Principal

msanders@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

Big picture

Important Dates

May 1-5 - Eid - No School


May 8 - School Resumes -- Day 2 Schedule


May 10-12 - Arabic Exams


May 15-17 - Middle States Accreditation Visit


May 16 - Spring Band Concert


May 19 - Spirit Day


May 23-25 - MAP Testing


June 7 - Variety Show (Rehearsals start May 22 in room 415)


June 9 - Grade 8 Promotion Ceremony


June 12, 13, 14 - School ends at 12:00 pm

LYNX SWAG April 26 - 28

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Sara Affify - saffify@aiswest.com

In order to build our background knowledge for Dragonwings by Laurence Yep, we have been learning about the experiences of Chinese immigrants to the US in the 1900s. We will then continue to make connections to events in history and attitudes to different cultures at the turn of the century using evidence from the text to engage in meaningful classroom discussion and clearly express our ideas in writing

Geography 6 - Ramy Moussa- rmoussa@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

This month, we will begin exploring the human and physical geography of Asia.

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

We will work on graphing coordinate points on a grid to form closed geometric objects. Students will then find the areas of the closed objects. Students will also work on constructing nets and finding the surface areas of the constructed nets.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Amanda Kerschen- akerschen@aiswest.com

During the month of May, students will continue learning about life science. We will begin a unit on the five kingdoms of life. Towards the end of the month students will begin their final summative project incorporating ecosystems and biomes.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: التعبير الوظيفي – التعبير الإبداعي /مراجعة على ما سبق دراسته.

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (غرائب المخلوقات ) النحو ( مراجعة علي ما سبق ) تحدث واستماع ( تقديم نفسك باللغة العربية). الإملاء ( مراجعة علي ما سبق )

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

Students will learn a new topic on Ma maison, different parts of the house. They will also continue reviewing expressions on how to express needs and feelings in French.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn new vocabulary most common used in class and when asking what something means, or how to say something in Spanish.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will polish their final play for a classroom performance.

Robotics 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students will be finishing their robotics solutions projects and advertisements as their final projects.

Physical Education 6 - Anders Nordquist, Marty Perry, Katrina Wards anordquist@aiswest.com, mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com

MS PE students are finishing up their investigation into skill related fitness. They will be wrapping up the school year showcasing their personal and social responsibility through games in PE.

Art 6 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

Grade 6 will experiment with line contour and painting backgrounds with acrylic paint.

Dance 6 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn the foundations for performing on stage.

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Sara Affify and Amira Nabhan - saffify@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month students will learn about Dystopian fiction, and read The Giver. They will practice using annotation to find evidence to use in literary analysis and continue to hone their writing skills with Caught Ya practice.

Math 7 - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

Students will continue explorations in geometry. Students will model and calculate area and volumes for 2D and 3D shapes and figures.

Science 7 - Amanda Kerschen & Holly Holst akerschen@aiswest.com, hholst@aiswest.com

We will be exploring additional cycles of the Earth, including the carbon and nitrogen cycles.

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

During the month of May, students will fine-tune their presentation skills in preparation for their last presentation of the year about the legacy of Ancient Greece.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

School areas vocabulary will be used to express emotions about how students feel in those school areas.

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud and Ahmed Khattab - smahmoud@aiswest.com, akhattab@aiswest.com

سوف يراجع الطلاب ماسبق دراسته ويتدربون على فهم النص المقروء وضبط وقراءة مفردات لغوية تصقل مهارتهم في القراءة والكتابة والتحدث من خلال مشروع

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will polish their rehearsal for a classroom performance.

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

Students will study a new chapter on Family, they will learn to ask about and describe people, ask and give opinions, identify family members and ask about someone's family.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (سميرة موسي) النحو (مراجعة علي ما سبق ) الإملاء ( مراجعة علي ما سبق ).

Art 7 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

The students will learn about pop art and create a pop art portrait inspired by Roy Lichtenstein using primary colors.

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are learning a new choreography for the variety show

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

MS PE students are finishing up their investigation into skill related fitness. They will be wrapping up the school year showcasing their personal and social responsibility through games in PE.

Video Games 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students will be finishing their 9-level videogames projects and advertisements as their final projects.

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Amira Nabhan and Stacy Pape - spape@aiswest.com

This month, students will start reading Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare. They will practice using annotation to find evidence to use in literary analysis and continue to hone their writing skills with Caught Ya practice.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Sophie Sewailem -aelsherif@aiswest.com, ssewailem@aiswest.com

Students will finish solving simultaneous equations. Students will begin a new unit on probability.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Stacy Pape - spape@aiswest.com

During the month of May, students will conclude their studies on the main cultural innovations of Islamic civilization, and then begin their study of the Age of Exploration.

Science 8 - Holly Holst & Kim Walker (hholst@aiswest.com, kwalker@aiswest.com)

During our final weeks together, students are finishing their exploration into outer space and then entering back on Earth to explore Evolution and Biological Systems that shape our life as homo sapiens.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will practice new vocabulary on evening activities in Spain and how to order food in restaurants. Students will learn new irregular verbs.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist and Iman Elarfaaoui- enordquist@aiswest.com, ielarfaaoui@aiswest.com

Students in French 8 will start a new topic on Mon année scolaire. They will talk and ask about classes, ask others what they need and tell what they need and inquire about and buy something. In grammar, students will learn on how to conjugate irregular French verbs.

Coding 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students will be finishing their independent free programs as their final projects.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (طريق النور واختراعات عربية ) النحو (مراجعة علي ما سبق ) الإملاء ( مراجعة علي ما سبق ).

Arabic 8 -Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

مراجعة ما تم دراسته في مادة اللغة العربية من أجل الاستعداد لامتحان الوزارة - عمل مشروع حول دروس المنهج

Art 8 - Mai Hedieb - mhedieb@aiswest.com

Grade 8 will be using zentangle methods its a type of different pattern and they will create shapes from this pattern

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Students are learning a new choreography for the variety show.

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

Students will polish the play for their classroom performance.

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

MS PE students are finishing up their investigation into skill related fitness. They will be wrapping up the school year showcasing their personal and social responsibility through games in PE.

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool