Mi Vida en Ecuador

Sarita Cooper

1. What would your family income be in Ecuador ? (Assume your parents had the same job titles in Ecuador ). (if you don't want to include numbers, you can just say what percent difference it might be - lower or higher)

My family income would be the same because people use the U.S. dollar in Ecuador.

2. What city and neighborhood would you live in (pick according to your preference and/or parent's job)?

I think I would want to live in Cuenca, Ecuador because it is not as "touristy" as Quito but still holds a large population and would be a great place for my parents work due to the large population. The neighborhood I would live in is Las Retamas because it is just outside the deep city. It would have the same city like feeling without being in the heart of the city.

3. What type of dwelling would your family live in (consider income)? How much would rent or your house cost? - make the amount spent comparable to the percentage of income your family spends here.

I would possibly rent an apartment for about 350/month. It would be a small condominium in Cuenca, Ecuador.

4. How many cars would your family have? What types of cars? If you have a driver's license here, would you have one there? What transportation would you use to school and to other activities?

I would have one or two cars, most likely two. We would have small, reasonable sized cars. I would most likely walk around places or get a ride. I doubt that i would take the bus because of its lack of use. For example, in Spain the metro system is extremely popular; however, in Ecuador it is not as popular, so I would not want to use it. I would also not want to take taxis because I would be living somewhat close to the city, where the driving can be dangerous. I would not be able to drive in Ecuador because the law says that you have to be 18 years old or older to drive.

5. Where would you go to school?

I would go to

Colegio Maria Auxiliadora

Unidad Educativa Salesiana María Auxiliadora

6. What classes would you be taking? What would your schedule be?

I would be going to normal classes that I might be taking here in the states. The class list at the school are basically the same criteria as here. I would need all my core classes as I do now. I think that my schedule would stay relatively the same as well. I would be attending classes based on the schools desired times, which seem to match up basically the same.

7. What extracurricular activities would you be involved in?

I would probably take various clubs at school, as I do now. I might also play a few sports with my friends. I think I would try to play golf, but since soccer is a very popular sport in Ecuador, I might try to play soccer as well. Tennis is also a very popular sport, so I might be interested in learning how to play tennis too.

8. What activities would you do with your friends after school? What about on weekends?

After school, I tend to go home to study and such, but if I were to go out, I would go to the mall or to a local park. I might go out to dinner with my friends. On the weekends, I would most likely go shopping at a large mall close to me or I might go walk around town and get some food.

9. Which church would you attend?

I would go to Iglesia Verbo Cuenca.

10. What would your typical meals be ? (breakfast, lunch, dinner & snacks)

For breakfast I might have empanadas de verde, a green plantain empanada with cheese filling, if not some fresh fruit from the market. For lunch, I might enjoy arroz con pollo or seco de chivo. I think I would have those things as dinner too. For a snack I would have fresh fruit or some cheese empanadas.

11. Where would your family shop for groceries?

I would shop at Supermaxi, which is a popular and generic grocery store in Ecuador

12. Where would you shop for clothes? Do they cost the same there? (more? Less?). What would you wear to school?

I might shop at Bershka. The prices are more or less the same as they would be in the U.S. (depending on where you look in the U.S.) I think I would wear just about the same things to school in Ecuador. I would probably not wear long sleeves as much because of how hot it gets, being so close to the equator and such. I don't think that my clothing would change too much for school.

13. Who would be a national celebrity you might like?

I might like Gerardo, a latin singer.

14. What type of music would you hear? (include a sample on a link with sound).

15. Where could you go on vacation? (within the country)

I would go to the Galapagos Islands. It is very pretty there and has a wide variety of animals and natural landscapes.