St. Columba's Primary School

NEWSLETTER | TERM 2 | WEEK 3 | 6 MAY 2021

Big picture


Lord Jesus Christ,

You chose to put yourself—tiny, needy and helpless—into the nurturing and watchful hands of a human mother. Since then, every act of mothering, both physical and spiritual, in every time and every corner of the world recollects Mary’s. Inspired by this example, we, too, honour our mothers and mother figures today. Bless these women, that they may be strengthened as Christian mothers and nurturers. Let the example of their faith and love shine forth. Grant that we, their sons and daughters, honour them always with a spirit of profound respect.

We ask this in your holy name.

Amen.

From the Principal

Dear St Columba’s school community,


Yet again, Covid-19 has impacted our school community with last minute changes having to be made to adhere to the latest restrictions. Students have adjusted very well to staff wearing masks, and this is largely due to the wonderful staff at our school who have gone above and beyond to make all students feel safe and comfortable at school.


In the Catholic Church the month of May is Mary’s month. It’s the month we honour Blessed Mary as the Mother of Jesus and our Heavenly Mother. There are a number of rituals that we do throughout May to show love for Mary. One of these rituals is praying the Rosary, a combination of prayers, during which we can reflect on the important events in the life of Jesus and Mary. Throughout the month of May, I encourage you to take some time to pray the Rosary with your children and reflect on how fortunate we are to live in where we do, particularly as we navigate our way through the Covid-19 pandemic.


May is also the month that we celebrate Mother’s Day. While it was disappointing to have to postpone our Mother’s Day Breakfast and Liturgy, I am looking forward to hearing the wonderful ways that we recognised our mums, grandmothers and those that take on the motherly role in our lives. I do hope everyone has a lovely day and that you get thoroughly spoilt by your families!


Wishing everyone a glorious weekend!


God Bless

Rebecca Clarke

Principal

Big picture

Merit award winners - Friday, 14 May

Year 1G - Archie, Ava C

Year 1W - Annabelle, Lilli

Year 2G - Giverny, April

Year 2W - John, Nena

Year 3G - Mischa, Toby

Year 3W - Darcey, James, Max

Year 4G - Ava, Joseph

Year 4W - Allegra, Florence

Year 5G - Ava, Tiago

Year 5W - Joshua, Siri

Year 6 - Teresa, Sienna

Important dates

Friday, 7 May - Year 1G Assembly

Sunday, 9 May - Mothers Day

Monday, 10 May - Kiss and Drive will be closed in the morning

Monday, 10 May - Mothers Day Breakfast at 7.30am

Monday, 10 May - Mothers Day Liturgy at 9am - St Columba's Church

Tuesday, 11 May - NAPLAN Begins

Wednesday, 12 May - School Advisory Council Meeting at 7pm

Friday, 14 May - Year 2G Assembly

Sunday, 16 May - First Holy Communion Mass - 4W at 9.30am

Tuesday, 18 May - VANS Carnival Year 5-6

Saturday, 22 May - Confirmation Mass at 6pm

Sunday, 30 May - First Holy Communion Mass - 4G at 9.30am

Big picture

Return Project Compassion boxes

Project Compassion boxes must be returned by Thursday, 20th May.

Canteen Roster - Week commencing 12 May

Wednesday - Julie Hyde

Thursday - Jamie Horner

Friday -

If you are on roster and are unable to make your roster day, please endeavour to find a replacement and advise Maria immediately via phone or email.

Library Roster - Week commencing 10 May

Monday - Sheridan Andrews

Wednesday - Nicole Baroni

Circle of Security Parenting Workshops - Wed 12 May

Already Week 3 and hopefully students are settling back into a school routine. At this time we are all aware of the importance of well-being and health. In such an important role, parents/carers need a time and place to reflect, discuss and draw strength.


Why not come along to find out about Circle of Security Parenting and a series of workshops to follow, focusing upon how to connect and maintain safe, secure relationships in which your child may thrive.

Date: Wednesday 12th May 9 - 10am. Register to attend. Please see the flyer below.

Big picture

Footy Tipping

Hello Parents and Families,


What looked to be some clear favourites to win last round has proven to be the toughest tipsters round for the comp this year.

Current Leader Board

No change at the top of the Leader board at the top on 31 points between:

Ben B (BenBristow18)

Todd D (Goal Sneak)

David B (Binns Clan)

Amelie D (Captain Shuey)

With 2 points gap to next place on the ladder on 29 points to:

Mark S (Scarymans)

Round 7 Winner

Oggace (Brendon O) with 5 and 5 point margin


Round 8 starts Friday night with Richmond featuring on MCG big stage again, this time against the inconsistent Geelong Cats

Weekly prizes for the five rounds played so far this year will be awarded at Fridays Assembly.


If you have been a round winner please let your child know once they hear their or your name called out in the assembly to go and pick a prize from the selection of high quality West Coast Eagles goods available! On a serious note there is a selection of goods across a variety of teams to choose from.


Happy Tipping

Todd Dawson

Big picture

P&F Meetings

Tuesday, 1 June at 7pm

Tuesday, 3 August at 7pm

Tuesday, 31 August at 7pm

Tuesday, 19 October at 7pm

School Advisory Council Meetings

Wednesday, 12 May at 7pm

Wednesday, 16 June at 7pm

Wednesday, 11 August at 7pm

Wednesday, 8 September at 7pm

Wednesday, 27 October at 7pm

School Term Dates

Term 2: Tuesday, 20 April to Thursday, 1 July

Term 3: Tuesday, 20 July to Friday, 24 September

Term 4: Tuesday, 12 October to Friday, 10 December

Pupil Free Days

Term 2: Tuesday, 8 June. Friday, 2 July

Term 3: Monday, 19 July

Term 4: Monday, 11 October