MISelf in Books

Community Read Aloud and Discussion Program: BPS Libraries

Conversations in a Diverse World: The Power of Story

The Birmingham Public Schools Library Media Department is pleased to invite our community on a journey into the world of story. We hope to share with our community some of the diverse content in our libraries and how it impacts the way we walk in this world.


We are inviting you to listen to a read-aloud and participate in a discussion of a selection of books chosen from the MISelf in Books list.


The books on this list were selected by a committee formed by the Michigan Association for Media in Education (MAME). MAME and the BPS Media Specialists recognize the challenges we face in combatting bias and racism in our communities and the power of literature in disrupting bias and racism while building empathy for others. These books are available in all of our BPS library media centers--and they are also books that students enthusiastically enjoy!


Therefore, we would like to introduce these books and offer opportunities for discussion of these texts. We are suggesting three ways you can use this time.


  1. Join as a family for listening and discussion.
  2. Join as caregivers to preview these books before sharing with your children.
  3. Join as caregivers to gain experience in discussing the themes presented in these books.


We are planning to host this event weekly on Thursdays 7-7:30 PM excepting school scheduled holidays.

Group Norms for Our Read-Alouds and Discussions

As we discuss thoughts related to the books shared in the company of both students and adults, please use these thoughts to guide your participation:

  • Open Mind, Open Heart
  • Engage in Self-Awareness
  • Keep Good Intentions
  • Withhold Assumptions and Judgement
Big picture

MISelf In Books: Awesomely Emma, A Charley and Emma Story

Thursday, Jan. 13th, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:


Emma has limb differences, but different isn't bad, sad, or strange. It's just different! But when some accessibility problems get in the way, it ruins the fun of a class trip. Emma has to call upon her sense of inner awesome to stand up for herself and make things better.



We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf in Books: Peanut Goes For The Gold

Thursday, Jan. 27th, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:

A charming, funny, and heartfelt picture book that follows the adventures of Peanut, a gender nonbinary guinea pig who does everything with their own personal flare.


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf in Books: In My Mosque

Thursday, Feb. 3rd, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:


Step in and discover all the rituals and wonder of the mosque in this lyrical debut picture book, perfect for fans of All Are Welcome and The Proudest Blue.


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf in Books: Ruby's Reunion Day Dinner

Thursday, Feb. 10th, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:


Once a year, each of Ruby’s relatives prepares a special dish to share at their family reunion. Daddy calls it their “signature dish”—and Ruby wants one of her own. She wanders through the bustling kitchen looking for inspiration. That’s when she finds it— the perfect solution!


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf in Books: Eyes that Kiss in the Corners

Thursday, March 3rd, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:

This lyrical, stunning picture book tells a story about learning to love and celebrate your Asian-shaped eyes, in the spirit of Hair Love by Matthew A. Cherry, and is a celebration of diversity.


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf In Books: Milo Imagines the World

Thursday, March 10th, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:

Milo is on a long subway ride with his older sister. To pass the time, he studies the faces around him and makes pictures of their lives. But when the boy in the suit gets off on the same stop as Milo–walking the same path, going to the exact same place–Milo realizes that you can’t really know anyone just by looking at them.


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf in Books: I Sang You Down from the Stars

Thursday, April 7th, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:


This unique baby book sings with Native cultural detail, while striking a universal chord in its celebration of the blossoming of love that comes with expecting and welcoming a new baby.


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf in Books: Thao

Thursday, April 14th, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:


Even though it’s only four simple, familiar letters long, nobody can ever pronounce Thao’s name. She’s been called Theo, Tail, even Towel! Inspired by Thao’s own childhood, this picture book is full of humor, heart, and important ideas of diversity, inclusion, and cultural pride.


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf in Books: Amira's Picture Day

Thursday, April 21st, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:


Ramadan has come to an end, and Amira can’t wait to stay home from school to celebrate Eid. There’s just one hiccup: it’s also school picture day. How can Amira be in two places at once?


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf in Books: Born Ready, The True Story of a Boy Named Penelope

Thursday, May 5th, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:

Jodie Patterson, activist and Chair of the Human Rights Campaign Foundation Board, shares her transgender son’s experience in this important picture book about identity and acceptance.


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf in Books: Zonia's Rain Forest

Thursday, May 12th, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:

Explores the wonders of the rain forest with Zonia, an Asháninka girl, in her joyful outdoor adventures. The engaging text emphasizes Zonia’s empowering bond with her home, while the illustrations burst with luxuriant greens and delicate details.


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

MISelf In Books: Salma The Syrian Chef

Thursday, May 19th, 7-7:30pm

This is an online event.

MAME Description:


All Salma wants is to make her mama smile again. With creativity, determination, and charm, Salma brings new friends together to show Mama that even though things aren’t perfect, there is cause for hope and celebration.


We will meet from 7:00-7:30 PM via zoom. Please register for this event below.

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

Book Sales at "The Book Beat"

If you are interested in purchasing any of the titles shared throughout this program we have partnered with our local independent book store, The Book Beat who offers curbside pick-up and ship to home options. All titles can purchased through the store with a 15% discount to BPS families. Please refer to The Book Beat web page for details.