Volcanoes in Ecuador

By Altyrick Sherrod

By Altyrick Sherrod

A volcano is a rupture on the crust of a planetary mass object which allows hot lava, volcanic ash, and gases to escape from a magma chamber from below to the service. When thick magma and large amounts of gas build up under the surface expelling lava, rocks, and ash in the air. Volcanoes tend to exist along the edges of tectonic plates. A large eruption can be extremely dangerous to people living around because it can reach up to two-thousands degrees burning everything in its path.

The volcanoes of Ecuador belong to the northern volcanic zone of the Andes, which is the result of subduction of the nazca pacific oceanic plate under the continental plate of South America. All Ecuador volcanoes are active but some are instinct. In Ecuador, the volcanoes occur on four chains. Their are twenty-six volcanoes in Ecuador.

Sangay is one of the highest active volcanoes in Ecuador. Sangay towers above the tropical jungle on the east side. The earliest report of a volcano is 1682. The more or less constant eruptive activity has caused frequent changes to the morphology. The last time Sangay erupted was in 2007.

[RAW] Ecuador Volcano Eruption 2014 Caught On Tape | Volcano in Ecuador Explodes For 5 Minutes