What is grief?

Grief is a deep sorrow, mainly caused by someone's death.

Big image

What causes Grief?

  • Death of a loved one
  • Disability from an accident
  • Infertility
  • Job loss
  • Miscarriage
  • Act of Violence or Natural Disaster
  • The end of a relationship
  • Being diagnosed with a chronic or terminal disease

What are the different stages of grief?

  1. Denial or numbness- It may be difficult to believe the loss has occurred
  2. Emotional Release- The loss is recognized. This stage often involve periods of crying
  3. Anger- the person uses anger because he or she feels powerless and unfairly deprived
  4. Bargaining- As the reality of the loss sets in the person may promise to change if what was lost can be returned
  5. Depression- Beyond the feeling of sadness, feeling of isolation, alienation, and hopelessness
  6. Remorse- The person may become preoccupied with thoughts about how the loss could have been prevented
  7. Acceptance- The person faces the reality of the loss, and experiences closure, or the acceptance of a loss
  8. Hope- remembering becomes less painful, and the person begins to look ahead to the future.

The Grieving Process: Coping with Death

Death of a Loved One Leaves Impact

A woman had died from an aneurysm and her sister was traumatized. A church had helped her accept her sister's death.

Big image