Quassaick Creek History & Ecology

Join our nature walk to learn about the creek's past

Explore Newburgh's Other Waterfront

The Historical Society of Newburgh Bay & the Highlands and the Quassaick Creek Watershed Alliance will host a history and ecology hike of the Quassaick Creek on Sunday, September 15th beginning at 1pm.


Historian Russell Lange and Urban Planner Peter Smith will lead the group through historic mill sites, past Asher B. Durand's home, and by the site of our local early photography supply factory nicknamed Dagurerreville.


Wear sturdy shoes and bring water and a camera.

Quassaick Creek History & Ecology Hike

Sunday, Sep. 15th 2013 at 1pm

River Road & Walsh's Road

The tour begins from the intersection of River Road and Walsh's Road on the border of Newburgh & New Windsor.


Tour Stops

1:00 PM - Meet at the foot of Walsh's Road for route and historical overview

1:15-1:45 PM - Walk the AFFCO (American Felt & Filter Co) property

2:00 PM Carpool to A.B. Durand home (Park at Plympton & Columbus Street, in Torr International parking lot). Descend into creek valley to site of candle factory

2:30 PM Continue to Muchattoes Lake (for those who wish to go on)

3:30 PM All are welcome to join for lunch at Gus' Tavern

Historical Society of Newburgh Bay & the Highlands

The Historical Society of Newburgh Bay and the Highlands, headquartered in the 1830 Captain David Crawford House, is a private not-for-profit organization. Incorporated in 1884, the Society was originally dedicated to the collection and preservation of records and data pertaining to the Hudson River Valley, focusing especially on its Revolutionary War history.


Serving as stewards of our history, the Society is dedicated to preserving, promoting and protecting the unique history, architecture and culture of Newburgh. Our unique story is told through the Society’s collections, programs and events such as the Battle of Newburgh Retrospective.