Team 2020 Vision: Commencement

May 12 2020

Team 2020 Families -

At the end of April, Brownsburg High School invited Team 2020 students to complete a survey to help inform our decision about their preferences for their BHS Commencement Ceremony. While we all would prefer to celebrate on the long-scheduled date of June 6th, restrictions put in place to keep our community safe during the COVD-19 pandemic prevent that from happening. Over 2/3 of the seniors completed the survey and 82% preferred having a live Commencement ceremony at a later date. After discussions with the local health officer, we are happy to announce the reschedule date for BHS Commencement:

Friday, July 10 at 8pm, C.F. Roark Stadium
(Commencement practice at 10am, rain date, July 11 at 9am/8pm)


In coordination with recommendations from local health and government officials, additional safety procedures for the ceremony will be communicated to families as the Governor’s Back On Track plan is implemented over the next few weeks. Pre-marked seating to maintain social distancing for graduates and guests and a limit on the number of attendees will be in place. Each graduate will receive two tickets for the ceremony.

BHS has conducted a high-quality live broadcast of Commencement for many years, and 2020 will be no exception. Family and friends who are not able to attend will be able to watch online. Any student who is unable to participate on this date and time may schedule a private appointment to take place starting the week of June 1st. These students will be presented with their diploma with limited family present during this private appointment. The procedures for scheduling those appointments will be shared soon.


Please keep in mind, due to this public health situation, all plans are tentative and subject to change based on guidelines from health and government officials.


Thank you for your patience as we celebrate Team 2020 during this most unique situation. We sincerely hope that a live Commencement will give them a more appropriate end to their time at BHS. Further communication about cap and gown pickup and laptop drop-off will be sent in the coming days.

~Mrs. Lingelbaugh

Big picture

Team 2020

Assistant Principal - Stacey Lingelbaugh, slingelbaugh@brownsburg.k12.in.us

Guidance Counselor (A-K) - Leslie Ayers layers@brownsburg.k12.in.us
Guidance Counselor (L-Z) - Megan Mayo, mmayo@brownsburg.k12.in.us

Academic Coach - Marcus Evans, mevans@brownsburg.k12.in.us

College & Career Counselor - Joni Martin, jmartin@brownsburg.k12.in.us

Administrative Assistant - Katherine Murray, kmurray@brownsburg.k12.in.us