Committees of Congress

Katie and Andie

House Committees

Our two houses that we picked are the Agriculture Committee and the Education and the Workforce Committee.

Agriculture Committee: The Chairman of the Agriculture Committee is K. Michael Conaway. The committee is made up of a total of 46 members with 26 Republicans and 19 Democrats. The Agriculture Committee was created simply to cover "subjects relating to

agriculture." The committee has jurisdiction over topics relating to crops, seeds, and fertilizers, agriculture economics and research, agriculture education, crop insurance, livestock inspection, the dairy industry, and rural development.

Education and Workforce Committee: The Chairman of the Education and Workforce Committee is John Kline. The committee is made up of a total of 38 members with 22 Republicans and 16 Democrats. Their goal is to increase education opportunities for students, make it easier to send young adults to college, and help workers find job training, and retirement security. They ensure American's needs are addressed so that students and workers may move forward in a changing school system, and competitive global economy, and they oversee federal programs and initiatives dealing with education at all levels.

Big image


The subcommittees for the Agriculture Committee are the Commodity Exchanges, Energy, and Credit Subcommittee, the Conservation and Forestry Subcommittee, the Nutrition Subcommittee, the General Farm Commodities and Risk Management Subcommittee, the Biotechnology, Horticulture, and Reseach Subcommittee, and the Livestock and Foreign Agriculture Subcommittee.

The subcommittees for the Education and Workforce Committee are the Early Childhood, Elementary, and Secondary Education Subcommittee, the Workforce Protection Subcommittee, and the Health, Employment, Labor, and Pensions Subcommittees.

Senate Committees

The two committees we chose are the Environment and Public Works Committee and the Finance Committee.

Environment and Public Works Committee: The chairman is Jim Inhofe. The total number of members on the committee are 21 members, with 11 Republicans, and 9 Democrats. They are referred to matters relating to topics such as air pollution, construction and maintainence of highways, environmental policies, fisheries and wildlife programs, water resources, public works, bridges and dams.

Finance Committee: The chairman is Orrin G. Hatch. The total number of members on the committee are 24 members with 13 Republicans and 11 Democrats. The committee concerns itself with matter like taxation and other revenue measures generally, in those relating to the possessions, bonded debt of the US, customs, collection districts, and ports of entry and delivery.

Big image

Senate Subcommittees

The subcommittees for the Environment and Public Works Committee are the Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Subcommittee, the Fisheries, Water, and Wildlife Subcommittee, the Superfund Waste Management, and Regulatary Oversight Subcommittee, and the Transportation and Infastructure Subcommittee.

The subcommittees for the Finance Committee are the Taxaction and IRS Oversight Subcommittee, the International Trade, Customs, and Global Competitiveness Subcommittee, the Fiscal Responsibility and Economic Growth Subcommittee, the Healthcare Subcommittee, the Energy, Natural Resouces, and Infastructure Subcommittee, and the Social Securtity, Pensions, and Family Policy Subcommittee.