6th Grade Weekly News

February 16-19

Important dates to remember

February 19: End of the 4th 6th Weeks

February 24: PACE testing

February 25 - 26: FMS UIL One Act Play - To Kill A Mockingbird at 7:30 p.m. (Cafeteria)

February 29: Spring Open House/Multicultural Event 6:30 - 8 p.m.

AVID

AVID interviews will be held during the first week of March. If selected for AVID, your student's schedule will be changed.


For more information about AVID, please contact our Frankford AVID Coordinator, Karyn Wynne at karyn.wynne@pisd.edu.

PACE testing - February 24

All students who completed a PACE referral form to join the program for next school year will test on Wednesday, February 24th. They will be responsible for any work they miss while testing.

Big image
Big image

World Wear Project -

Be a part of diverting thousands of pounds of shoes and clothing from local landfills by filling our shoes and clothing donation bin with your gently used shoes, clothing, purses, belts, wallets, hats, caps, backpacks, hard toys, stuffed animals, and pots and pans.

Frankford has partnered with the World Wear Project. For every pound collected, our PTA receives $0.15. The benefit to you? Neater closets, drawers, toy boxes, and kitchens, and the knowledge that less textile waste will end up in our local landfills. Our World Wear Project donation box is located in the parking lot by the gym.

Big image

Frankford Food Pantry:

Communities in Schools has set up a food pantry for students in need at Frankford specifically. The pantry is in need of items such as applesauce, peanut butter, jelly, mac & cheese cups, granola bars and breakfast bars. If you are interested in helping, please send any donations to school with your child. The donations can be dropped off in the front office.

How do I contact my teacher:

6th Grade Counselor:

Sharlene Barton - sharlene.barton@pisd.edu


Math:

Eric McDaniels - eric.mcdaniels@pisd.edu

Patty Walker - patricia.walker@pisd.edu

Kay Marshall - kay.marshall@pisd.edu

Ruth Byerly - ruth.byerly@pisd.edu


Science:

Stephanie Brinton - stephanie.brinton@pisd.edu

Lisa Gilstrap - lisa.gilstrap@pisd.edu

Ashley Harris - ashley.harris@pisd.edu


English/Language Arts:

Lisa Youngblood - lisa.youngblood@pisd.edu

Libby Cooper - elizabeth.cooper@pisd.edu

Nicole Northcutt - nicole.northcutt@pisd.edu

Shika Hershel - shika.hershel@pisd.edu

Kristin Woods - kristin.woods@pisd.edu

Carol Dutton - carol.dutton@pisd.edu


History:

Thomas Rooklidge - thomas.rooklidge@pisd.edu

Elizabeth Satz - elizabeth.satz@pisd.edu

Montrail Davis - montrail.davis@pisd.edu


PE:

Jeff McDonnell - jeff.mcdonnell@pisd.edu

Colby Pate- colby.pate@pisd.edu

Ken Hentges - ken.hentges@pisd.edu

Shanda Hairston - shanda.hairston@pisd.edu

Pam Fox - pamela.fox@pisd.edu


Fine Arts:

Rebecca Cronk (Band) - rebecca.cronk@pisd.edu

Mark Reddoch (Band) - mark.reddoch@pisd.edu

Geoffrey Golden (Orchestra) - geoffrey.golden@pisd.edu

Brittany Denig (Orchestra) - brittany.denig@pisd.edu

Aron Mattes (Choir) - aron.mattes@pisd.edu