West Side Story 2.0
September 2, 2022
BEST at West...Be respectful, Engage in learning, Show integrity, Take responsibility
1st Day of School
Breakfast costs $1.15; lunch costs $2.75.
Your children may qualify for free or reduced-price school meals. To apply, complete the Application for Educational Benefits. A new application must be submitted each year. Your application also helps the school qualify for education funds.
Subs on the Sidewalk
Challenge: Every student signs up for at least one activity. You only get one shot at high school, and your experience will be so much richer if you get involved!
In the past, students received a grade for 1st quarter and a grade for 2nd quarter. Their semester grade was 50% 1st quarter, 50% 2nd quarter. This year, we will not have 1st and 2nd quarter grades. The semester grade will be cumulative for the entire semester. Teachers will have their grade books updated every three weeks. A message will go out to families on those dates to remind you to check in on your student's progress.
In the grade book you will see that Summative Assessments are a minimum of 90% of the grade with Formative Assessments being 10% of the grade.
Students do have opportunities for reassessment of learning on summative assessments. All students are eligible for one reassessment per summative assessment to demonstrate a higher level of understanding.
Daily attendance is so important in high school. When students are absent, they can make up assignments, but nothing can replace the authentic learning experiences that are created with their peers in the classroom.
Minnesota State Law requires children from age 7 through age 17 to attend school. This is called compulsory instruction or compulsory attendance and falls under MN State Statute 120A.22. This law informs our district attendance policies and impacts students and
families at West High School in the following ways:
Attend each class and arrive on time, prepared to learn and participate.
Inform teachers and office staff in advance of pre-excused absences.
Have a parent/guardian call the office within 48 hours of an absence.
Be aware of their own status in regard to tardies and absences in classes.
Encourage students to attend school regularly.
Notify the office by phone on the day of your child’s absence. Absences not verified within 48 hours of the student’s return to school will remain unexcused.
Limit absences by scheduling appointments, vacations, college visits, etc. on non-school days.
Notify the office in writing or by phone of a pre-excused absence at least 1 day prior to the absence.
Who decides what is an unexcused absence from school?
Minnesota State Law (MN 120A.22) gives schools specific guidelines around what can and what can not be considered an excuse for missing school. Please be aware that the school administration holds the final say in whether an absence is excused. Parents/guardians notify the school of the reason for a student's absence. The school must determine whether the reason fits the school board approved criteria and meets the requirement of the law.
Information Resources for Scarlet Families
First Day of School - All School Assembly 8:45am - Auditorium
Subs on the Sidewalk
Early Out (school dismissed at 1:35)
Picture Retake Day