Stepping Into 6th Grade

October 21st- October 25th

Important Dates and Upcoming Tests

October 31st - House Day

ELA

R1B Determine the meaning of words and phrases as they are used in the text including figurative and connotative meanings using context, affixes, or reference materials.



This means:

1. I can determine the meaning of unknown words using context clues



Key Terms: context clues, synonym, antonym, figurative language, thesaurus.



If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:


Mrs. Clark: kclark@fulton58.org

Mrs. Clark: lclark@fulton58.org

Ms. Hervey: ahervey@fulton58.org

Math

Last Week:

We had lots of fun last week looking at and creating double number lines and learning about constant speed and unit price.


This Week:

We will be looking at equivalent ratios in a table. At the end of the week, students should be able to create a table of equivalent ratios and use the table to answer real-wold questions. We will be testing over Unit 2 on November 8th. There will be one day of review before the test.


Objectives:

I can use a ratio to compare two quantities and know how to write a ratio in three different ways.

I can use a create a table of equivalent ratios and use unit rates and percents to solve real-world problems.


Vocabulary:

tables, tape diagram


Homework for the Week:

Exit Slips 2.12-2.14


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Grant: cgrant@fulton58.org

Ms. Lechiara: glechiara@fulton58.org

Science

Unit:

Gravity


6-8.ESS1.A.3 Develop and use a model to describe the role of gravity in the motions within galaxies and the solar system.


This Week: We will explore the forces that keep our planets in orbit.


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Hemken: khemken@fulton58.org

Ms. Doering: mdoering@fulton58.org

Social Studies

Unit Checklist


Learning Targets This Unit:


  • Student can describe how the geography of river valleys led to settlement and the beginning of civilization
  • Student can describe the advancement of civilization and its legacy


Vocabulary: River Valley, Fertile Crescent, Silt, Irrigation, Physical Characteristics, Legacy, Advancement, Polytheism, Monotheism, Monarchy, Dynasty, Theocracy


Monday: Egypt Notes and Map

Tuesday: Egypt Notes and Map

Wednesday: Egypt Notes and Map

Thursday: House Day

Friday: No-School


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Mr. Hoskins: jhoskins@fulton58.org,

Mrs. Windmann: ewindmann@fulton58.org