The 13 Colonies

by Deanna Canale

The 13 Colonies

the 13 colonies are Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Maryland, N. Carolina, S. Caroline, Georgia.

The New England Colonies

The New England Colonies are Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. The New England Colonies had long winters and rocky soil, making it harder to grow crops. Instead of growing crops, the people of The New England Colonies made use of the plentiful timber, and used the lumber to build ships. Since they lived on the the coast, the could market fish and whales.

The Middle Colonies

The Middle Colonies are New York, Delaware, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. The Middle Colonies had shorter winters and fertile soil, making it an ideal area for agriculture. The Middle Colonies produced so much grain, that they were referred to as the " Breadbasket Colonies." The population in The Middle Colonies included immigrants from all over Europe due to the great climate and fertile soil.

The Southern Colonies

The Southern Colonies are Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia. Like The Middle Colonies, The Southern Colonies had a warm climate and fertile soil. Their growing season lasted almost the entire year. The Southern Colonies made use of what is known as a plantation economy.