Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Created by Sam Greenblatt

Big image


Beethoven was born in Bonn, Germany in 1770 with seven siblings. His mother was nice and loving, but his father was a heavy drinker and was very demanding. His father was a music teacher so for Beethoven's whole life he was close to music. When Beethoven was seventeen he moved to Austria. When he lived their he become a great piano player. He had to move back to Bonn because of family tragedies, his mother was dying and his dad lost his job. He had to make responsibility of his family. in 1792 his father died and he moved back to Vienna for good. After these terrible things Beethoven become rude, violent, generous, and nice. When he lived in Vienna, Austria he got even better at piano and studied with Franz Joseph Haydn. At the age of 28 just before writing his first symphony Beethoven started to lose his hearing. But Beethoven continued to play music. In the last decade of Beethoven's life he cut the legs of his piano so he could feel the vibrations of the notes. Beethoven later died at the age of 56. Over his life he wrote 9 amazing symphonies.
Big image
This is a map of Vienna Austria, the home of Beethoven. Vienna is where Beethoven become a great pianist and learned most of his skills. Beethoven spent most of his life in Vienna.
Beethoven's 5th symphony
This is Beethoven's fifth symphony. It is one of the most popular symphonies ever created. It is considered the best symphony that Beethoven wrote and is considered by some as the best symphony ever!


Beethoven . Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 9 Dec 2015.

Map Of Vienna, Austria, 1899. Photo. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 10 Dec 2015. "Beethoven's 5th Symphony." YouTube. YouTube, 16 Jan. 2009. Web. 10 Dec. 2015.

Interesting Facts

Beethoven's dad was a piano tutor but was not very skilled at the piano

Beethoven met Mozart and Mozart said to Beethoven "You will make a big noise in the World."

Other Work By Beethoven


Opus 21: Symphony No. 1 in C major (composed 1799–1800, premièred 1800)

Opus 36: Symphony No. 2 in D major (composed 1801–02, premièred 1803)

Opus 55: Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major ("Eroica") (composed 1803/04, premièred 1805)

Opus 60: Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major (composed 1806, premièred 1807)

Opus 67: Symphony No. 5 in C minor ("Fate") (composed 1804–08, premièred 1808)

Opus 68: Symphony No. 6 in F major ("Pastoral") (composed 1804–08, premièred 1808)

Opus 92: Symphony No. 7 in A major (composed 1811–12, premièred 1813)

Opus 93: Symphony No. 8 in F major (composed 1812, premièred 1814)