MGM 8th Grade Gator News

April 4, 2016

Welcome!

Welcome Back! We hope that everyone had a great Spring Break!

Be sure to read through for house news, upcoming assessments, and highlights!

News & Updates

Color Me Gator

MGM's awesome spring event COLOR ME GATOR is Friday, April 29. Color Me Gator is a color run of epic proportions that takes place during the school day. You won't want to miss it! Registration is $10 -- every one who registers will receive at least a t-shirt and 1 color dye pack (the t-shirt design is new this year). Deadline to register is April 11. Registration forms were sent home with students and an electronic copy is available. Register today! Click here for the registration form!
Color Me Gator

Color Me Gator Sponsors

Are you interested in having your business sponsor the Color Me Gator event this year? This is a great advertising opportunity, and we would love your support!

Please click HERE to read more information.

Summer Camp Opportunities

Below is a list of 2016 Summer Camp Opportunities. Click the links for more information on each camp opportunity!


Clemson 4-H Camp http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/4h2.php

Columbia Museum of Art http://www.columbiamuseum.org/learn/summercamp

SC Chamber of Commerce Business Week www.scbusinessweek.com

USC Adventures Series Summer Camps http://saeu.sc.edu/adventures/advseries.php

Clemson Camp Hannon Adventures http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/adventure3.php

Emerging Public Leaders http://riley.furman.edu/education/emerging-public-leaders-application

Leadership Converse 2015 http://www.converse.edu/leadership-converse

Youth Corps http://www.youthcorps.net

Clemson Camp Sewee http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/sewee4.php

United States Military Academy, West Poin thttp://www.westpoint.edu/admissions/SitePages/Summer.aspx

Clemson Camp Wildlife http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/wildlife3.php

Governor's School: GoSciTech http://www.scgssm.org/programs-clubs/go-scitech

Governor's School: iTeam http://www.scgssm.org/outreach-camps

Tech-Know Time Camp (Lego Camp) https://sites.google.com/a/techknowtime.com/tkt/

Clemson Camp Voyager http://www.clemson.edu/yli/pages/voyager3.php

Camp YMCA http://columbiaymca.org/camp/

Camp EdVenture Summer Camps http://www.edventure.org/programs/camps/

Vet CAMP http://www.vet.uga.edu/academic/vetcamp

Palmetto Parent Camp Directory http://www.palmettoparent.com/Camps.aspx

Columbia Living Mag. Camp Guide http://www.columbialivingmag.com/summer-camp-guide

"Serious" Writers Workshop offered for Girls http://www.columbiasc.edu/about/latest-news/1639-serious-writers-workshop-offered-for-6-11-grade-girls-apply-by-may-4

Columbia Children's Theatre http://www.columbiachildrenstheatre.com/

Carolina Wildlife Center Volunteer http://carolinawildlife.org/volunteer/

Palmetto Health Jr. Volunteer Program https://www.volgistics.com/ex/portal.dll/ap?AP=282437381&OR=1

Lexington Medical Center Jr. Volunteer Programhttp://www.lexmed.com/docs/volunteer/LexingtonMedical_Junior_Volunteer_Application_2015.pdf

Upcoming Assessments

Check with your child's teacher if you have questions!

Pre-Algebra - None - MAP testing Wednesday - Friday

Algebra I - None - MAP testing Wednesday - Friday

Algebra II - None - MAP testing Wednesday - Friday



English 8 - See Schoology for updates


English I - Stems units 1-5 assessment on Friday for Hamilton's classes only


Science - Rock Cycle Comic Strips and other Rock Projects (Tesh's class only) are due this Friday. This is a summative grade.


Social Studies - Video Lectures and Daily Check Quizzes, highest two daily check quizzes will be recorded as formative assessments. Check your child's assignment sheet and/or Schoology for due dates.


World Language French Immersion: None

World Language French Passport: None

World Language Novice B1:None

World Language Novice B2: None

World Language C1: None

World Language Novice C2 : None

Intermediate A: None

World Language Latin 1: None

World Language Latin2: None

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day!