What is Uluru?

Uluru is a big sandstone formation in central Australia. It has two names the other is Ayres Rock.  The local Pitjantjatjara people named it Uluru and surveyor William Gosse named it Ayers Rock in honour of Chief Secretary of South Australia, Sir Henry Ayers. Both names are commonly used. Uluru is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.


Uluru is located in the south western area of the Northern Territory, Australia. It and Kata Tjuta are the main features of Uluru-Kata Tjuta Nation Park. Uluru is 335km away from a large town named Alice Springs.


Historically, 46 species of nature mammals are known to have been living near Uluru. Only 21 are still recorded, many of these creatures are rare or endangered.

Some of the most commonly known animals to Uluru are:

Thorny Devil, Wedge-tailed Eagle, Black-Cockatoo, Monitor and the Dingo.


There are 416 species of native plants in Uluru.

Wanari includes several acacia species which form dance woodlands of low, rounded shrub-like trees; these are the most common tree in the park. Trees such as the Mulga and Bloodwood are used as tools such as a spear head, boomerang and bowls.

Ananqu-have a vast knowledge of the areas plant life. Centered around plants which are sources of food, medicines and raw materials for tool making and other needs.

Uluru's Flora and Fauna

Historical Information

Debate continues the first Aboriginals moved into Uluru at least 20,000 years ago.

The arrival of the Europeans to Uluru was during the 1870's.

Ayers Rock was created a national park in the 1950's. In 1959 a motel lease was granted near the rock and soon after an airstrip was built.

In 1985 the rock was handed back to the traditional owners who, intern, granted the Australian National Parks and Wildlife a 99 year lease on the park.