Come Meet The Arachids !

By: Elana Long

Whats so special about them?

Well , Arachnids are creatures with two body segments, eight legs, no wings or antennae and are not able to chew. Many people think that spiders are insects but they are mistaken since insects have six legs and three main body parts. Most insects have wings.Arachnids are mostly carnivorous, feeding on the pre-digested bodies of insects and other small animals.

Fun fact: Arachnids belong to an even larger group of animals called “arthropods” which also include insects and crustaceans (lobster, crabs, shrimp, and barnacles). This is the largest group in the animal kingdom!

Big image

Black Widow

Widow spiders are a genus which contains 32 recognized species. The name Black Widow is derived from the behavior in which the female sometimes eats the male after mating. The black widow spider is the most famous member of the genus. Its bite is very dangerous for humans, but death is rare if proper medical treatment is provided.
Big image

Jumping spider

This family of spiders contains about 5,000 species which makes it the largest family of spiders with about 13% of all spider species.Most of those species are capable of very agile jumps in both hunting and avoiding threats. Jumping spiders are generally recognized by their eye pattern, all the jumping spider species have four pairs of eyes with one pair being their particularly large.
Big image

Spiny Orb-weaver

Also known as Spiny-backed orb-weavers, the orb-weaver is a genus of around 70 species of spiders known for their visible spines. These spiders can reach sizes of up to 30mm in diameter. They are found all around the world and are completely harmless to humans despite their frightening appearance.
Big image


Big image


Cat VS Scorpion I Funny Video Cat Fight with Scorpion into Home