The Weekly Spur

Week Thirty-four: May 9-12, 2016

  • Better Speech and Hearing Month
  • May 1-7 Teacher Appreciation Week
  • May 2-6 Child Nutrition Week
  • May 4 National School Nurses Day
  • Happy Mother's Day!

    A Mother's Love
    There are times when only a Mother's love
    Can understand our tears,
    Can soothe our disappoints
    And calm all of our fears.
    There are times when only a Mother's love
    Can share the joy we feel
    When something we've dreamed about
    Quite suddenly is real.
    There are times when only a Mother's faith
    Can help us on life's way
    And inspire in us the confidence
    We need from day to day.
    For a Mother's heart and a Mother's faith
    And a Mother's steadfast love
    Were fashioned by the Angels
    And sent from God above.
    Author Unknown

    Word of the Week, Quote & Call back:

    W.O.W.: Temperance - moderation in action, thought or feeling

    Quote: "The key to everything is patience. You get the chicken by hatching the egg, not by smashing it." By Arnold H. Glasow

    Call Back: Once a Spur...Always a Spur!

    What's on tap this week?

    Don't forget your Thank You's for Thank You Thursday!

    Monday, May 9 - STAAR Tests Grade 3-4 Math, Grade 5 Math Re-test

    Tuesday, May 10 - STAAR Tests Grade 3-4 Reading, Grade 5 Reading Re-test

    Wednesday, May 11 - STAAR Test Grade 5 Science

    Thursday, May 12 -

    Friday, May 13 - Second Chance Farms Presentation

    Big image

    Happy Birthday to You - this week!

    May 9 - Jill Wagenknecht

    A look ahead...

    Monday, May 16 - GE Consultant on Campus

    Tuesday, May 17 -

    Wednesday, May 18 - GE Consultant on Campus

    Thursday, May 19 - Kindergarten Round-up 5:00-6:30

    Friday, May 20 - Staff Luncheon, Choir trip to NRH20, Last Inspirations Assembly

    Monday, May 23 -

    Tuesday, May 24 - K-2 Awards Assembly in the cafeteria (K 8:00-8:40, 1st 8:45-9:25, 2nd 9:30-10:10)

    Wednesday, May 25 - 3rd-5th Awards Assembly in the cafeteria (3rd 1:00-1:30, 4th 1:30-2:00, 5th 2:00-2:30)

    Thursday, May 26 - Field Day

    Friday, May 27 - Economics Fair

    PTA Information:

    *PTA has created a BOX TOP GARDEN. Depending on how many box tops you have turned in depends on how many petals are on your flower. The first petal represents 25 or less box tops and every petal after represents 10 boxtops. **Just a reminder, SPED will be picking up your box top envelope every Friday, not PTA. **

    "Response to Intervention: Safe Spaces for Math and Literacy"

    Here is a link for an interesting article entitled:

    "Response to Intervention: Safe Spaces for Math and Literacy"

    http://www.edutopia.org/practice/response-intervention-safe-spaces-math-and-literacy?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=socialflow