Florence Update

May 13, 2016

Dear Florence Families,

It was a great week at Florence Elementary! We are so proud of our third and fourth graders for working hard on the STAAR test. The rest of the school went about their learning, but helped maintain a quiet environment so the older students could concentrate. It was a real team effort!


We want to give a big thank you to Andrea Saitis for coordinating lunch and snacks for the two days of STAAR. It was so helpful and very much appreciated. We also want to thank September Wade and the PTA volunteers for our final Spirit Store today. Awesome job!!!


We have a lot of activities coming up, so please check the below calendar and the website calendar for all upcoming events.


Have a great weekend!

Love,
Laura

Upcoming Dates and Events


  • May 19th: Fourth Grade Playday
  • May 20th: Intent to Return Forms Due
  • May 23rd: PTA Meeting and Fourth Grade Musical
  • May 24th-27th: BOGO Bookfair
  • May 27th: Mayfest - Rain or Shine



End of Year Recognition Ceremonies:


  • May 31st: First Grade 10:00 a.m.
  • May 31st: Second Grade 1:30 p.m.
  • June 1st: Third Grade 9:30 a.m.
  • June 1st: Kindergarten 1:00 p.m.
  • June 2nd: Fourth Grade Graduation 8:30 a.m.

First Annual Florence Battle of the Books

Big image

Intent to Return Survey

The Intent to Return Survey was sent home this week. Please fill it out and return it by May 20th, so that we can begin preliminary planning for the upcoming school year. If you have lost your copy, we have it posted on our website. You may access it through this link. http://campusnew.kellerisd.net/school/fes-102/

Thanks for your help!

Big image

Information Flyers and Summer Camp

We are working to keep our website up to date with all the information and summer camp flyers that are being sent to us. Please click below to access the list. (It is updated every week)


2016 Flyers



New flyers for this week include:


Now Accepting Class Placement Letters for the 2016-2017 School Year

We will be accepting letters for Class Placements through June 3rd. Please be sure to let us know the characteristics of your child and the learning environment that you feel he/she works best. Please do not request specific teachers or placement with friends.

You may turn in your letters to our Secretary, Dana Shumake or email her at dana.shumake@kellerisd.net.

2016-17 Instructional Calendar


  • New school times for next year 7:55-3:10. Click KISD Bell Schedule to see all K-12 school times.

Please see below for some very important links and info!

Florence Elementary

Laura Lockhart - Principal - laura.lockhart@kellerisd.net

Farah Rehman - Assistant Principal - farah.rehman@kellerisd.net

Angelina Bowen - Counselor - angelina.bowen@kellerisd.net

Leigh Anne Nelson - Nurse - leigh.nelson@kellerisd.net

Dana Shumake - Secretary - dana.shumake@kellerisd.net

Pris Brown - Receptionist/Attendance - priscilla.brown@kellerisd.net

Jeanne Devine - Receptionist - jeanne.devine@kellerisd.net

Georgia Altom - PTA President - georgiaaltom@gmail.com