Stepping Into 6th Grade

September 16th - 20th

Important Dates and Upcoming Tests

ELA

Unit: Unit: Introducing Reading Workshop


Learning Targets This Unit: The student can draw conclusions, infer, and analyze by citing textual evidence to support analysis of what the text says explicitly as well as inferences drawn from the text.


Students will be taking a pre-test to show how much they already know about inferring and drawing conclusions. We will continue to use Towers Falling as our model text to teach the skill. Students will also begin working on various activities in class and small groups to help solidify their skills.


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:


Mrs. Clark: kclark@fulton58.org

Mrs. Clark: lclark@fulton58.org

Ms. Hervey: ahervey@fulton58.org

Math

This past week, we focused on the area of a parallelogram, and now every student is a master at it!! This coming week, we will use what we have learned about parallelograms from last week and apply it to find the area of triangles. Then, we are investigating where the formula for the area of a triangle comes from. This all ties back to the objective of being able to find the area of a multitude of figures. We will be mid-unit testing Thursday to check-in with the students on their learning so far.


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Grant: cgrant@fulton58.org

Ms. Lechiara: glechiara@fulton58.org

Science


This week we will be taking the science NWEA test! This tests helps us better understand where each student is in their understanding of science concepts. Please make sure your student gets plenty of rest and eats great meals so they are ready to rock the NWEA.



If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Hemken: khemken@fulton58.org

Ms. Doering: mdoering@fulton58.org

Social Studies

Unit: Agricultural Revolution


Learning Targets This Unit: Students can explain the causes and results of the Agricultural Revolution


Monday: Wrap-up Hyperdoc assignment, Critical Thinking questions are DUE, start project if time allows.

Tuesday: Picture Day, Start Agricultural Revolution Project

Wednesday: Work on Agricultural Revolution Project

Thursday: Work on Agricultural Revolution Project

Friday: Last day to work on Agricultural Revolution Project; Project DUE


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Mr. Hoskins: jhoskins@fulton58.org,

Mrs. Windmann: ewindmann@fulton58.org