Port Susan Middle School

Family & Student Update 02/27/2022

We're in this TOGETHER!

As we continue our work together for a successful 2021-2022 school year, I want to remind our families of supports in place and ways to communicate as needed.


  • Power Hour: 2:30 - 3:30 Tuesdays through Thursdays for homework support
  • Skyward Family Access: Students & Parent access to check academic progress
  • Clubs/Activities/Sports: Opportunities available for all students
  • Homework Folders: Projects, homework, rubrics, etc. in red folder for parent communication & organization of "to-do"
  • Email/Google Classroom: Staff email list below. Google Classroom access for all students - parents encouraged to ask their student to share information.
  • Phone Call: Contact our office at 360.629.1360


Definition of HQTL

At PSMS, high quality teaching and learning means that we are a community of learners including both students and staff. Teachers provide routine and structures along with the belief that ALL students have the ability to learn.

Round 1 Votes are IN

Our students have narrowed the entryway mural down to their top 3 choices. We will have a final round of voting this next week for the #1 choice! This has been a great opportunity for our students to work together with our PTO on this project. Thank you, PTO!
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Upcoming XELLO Lesson - Advisory Monday

In the Stanwood-Camano School District, we are utilizing the online platform Xello to allow students the opportunity to explore options, build self-knowledge, create their pathway, and document their plan. The following pages outline the scope and sequence for this work.


6th grade information

7th grade information

8th grade information


We will lead students through our first lesson on Monday as an introduction. Students may need to take time during advisory throughout the week to complete the week lesson for their grade level. Students may work on this at home as well and share it with parents.

Big picture

Attention Families of Students in Grades 8-11

Stanwood High School will be hosting the 1st Annual Electives Fair on March 9th from 5:00-7:30 PM. This is an opportunity for students and families to learn about the course offerings and opportunities for next year. High School registration will be starting after this event, so it is a great time to hear directly from teachers and students about the various choices available to students.

Big picture

District Information

In addition to the Friday Family Message, I encourage all parents to check the Stanwood-Camano School District website for information and updates. Both of these are great for ongoing information throughout the year and linked below.

Week of February 28th through March 4th

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - XELLO Lesson #1

Varsity Basketball @ Totem


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support


Wednesday:

WHITE Wednesday

Varsity Basketball vs Marysville Middle

V Wrestling @ SMS


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Red/White Scrimmage

JV Wrestling @ Post


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Thank you for all you do!

Cherae Almanza, Principal

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland (Athletic Director/Assistant Principal) cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu

Cherae Almanza (Principal) calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu


The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.