3rd Grade Weekly Update

What We Are Learning and Events for April 11-15

Field Day!

This year, Blue Haze will hold an All School Field Day. Mark your calendars for Wednesday, May 25. Each grade level will have a different colored shirt. 3rd grade will be Mint Green. T-Shirts are $6.00 and an order form will be in your child's folder on Friday. If you have children in various grade levels, please send in each order form separately. Checks can be made payable to Blue Haze Elementary. If you are interested in volunteering and would like to order a shirt, please do so. More volunteer information will be sent out in the coming weeks.

How Can I Help?

We still have parents who ask us, "How can I help my child at home?" Please check your child's take home folder every day. Review over any daily work, homework or quizzes that come home. Ask your child to try to explain a concept to you! Reading with your child for at least 20 minutes a night is vital for student success! Continue to review Multiplication math facts via Reflex Math, oral quizzing or flash cards.

Multiplication Facts

We are just a few weeks away from the real STAAR test. That also happens to be the deadline for Multiplication Timed Tests. We will have a big Ice Cream Sundae Party after the test. How many scoops of ice cream, sauces and toppings your child receives will depend on how many levels they have passed. If your child has not memorized all facts 0-12, please continue to practice!

Skyward

The 5th 6 weeks is almost over, we will spend the next 6 weeks prepping and reviewing over concepts already taught. Please continue to check on your child's grades through the Skyward program. While we do send progress reports at the 3 week mark, regularly checking grades is a great way to eliminate any surprises! If you need help logging into the program, please contact the front office.

Running Club

Please remember that Running Club practice will be on Thursday only. Please make sure you arrange your pick up schedule accordingly.

What We Are Learning

Reading- We will review making inferences about text using textual evidence to support understanding.


Math- We will review place value, comparing numbers and estimating sums and differences.


Science- We will explore how the structures and functions of plants and animals allow them to survive in a particular environment.

Important dates

April 13- College Blitz Day


April 14- $1 Flip Flop Day (don't forget tennis shoes if it is your PE day)


April 15- End of 5th 6 Weeks!

All About 3rd Grade

Please feel free to email us with any questions or concerns:


Mrs. Belousek: kbelousek@wsisd.net

Mrs. Vinson: lvinson@wsisd.net

Mrs. Torres: mtorres@wsisd.net

Mrs. Button: cbutton@wsisd.net

Mrs. Speer: aspeer@wsisd.net

Mrs. Caldwell: acaldwell@wsisd.net

Miss Morse: amorse@wsisd.net

Miss Hebert: chebert@wsisd.net